Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 78
  1. #1
    I'm Tobnical Tob's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    Upstate
    Posts
    5,465

    Replacing shaker 500 with factory navigation unit

    Kind of uncharted waters for me since I'm hardly an audiophile by any means. Every thread I've ever seen posted was incomplete and left me with quite a few questions. I fully understand that there are better aftermarket units out there - I don't doubt that. My intent is simply to add the factory system I would have ordered had I the opportunity with the car I purchased.

    To start, I picked up the unit from the GT500 Parts Buy/Sell forum here at SVTP, under the Interior/Exterior Parts listings. It arrived well packed sometime this afternoon (thanks Landon). Landon stated that he had plugged it into his '09 GT500 and that it worked fine. My understanding is that it was never installed and is essentially a new OEM factory Mustang unit.





    Apparently, Pioneer makes or made these for Ford.



    Thankfully, the part number can be clearly deciphered from the tag on the back of the unit



    I found a source on the web that broke down the part numbers by Ford vehicles and sure enough 7R3T-18K931-BC crosses to 2007 Mustang convertible (third up from the bottom on the chart)



    Under the heading "Dealer Installed Upgrades" I see a cross to Delphi DLP/4071093. Anyone know what the upgrade actually is? At the bottom of that section it states " Delphi DLP needs antennae and modified harness" and I have no idea what the hell that means either.

    My hope is that my '09 GT500 has the necessary harnesses to plug into the back to allow the radio and navigation to work. Sat radio is great but I just don't drive the car enough to justify paying for it (but it would be nice to be able to plug it in in case I ever did want it).



    Can anyone identify what plugs into each of these?



    And what is the rubber plug covered/barbed/internally thread (but also plugged halfway) piece for?



    I'm just trying to identify if there is anything additional I need to purchase (do our premium GT500's come with every harness in place whether you ordered the matching system for it or not?) such as a navigation antennae?

    In addition, any quickies on console/dash removal necessary to get to the guts of this install? Anyone that may have a bookmarked photo writeup would certainly be appreciated! Thanks for any help you guys can offer.

    Tob

  2. #2
    WHYUMAD DavidHasselhoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    1,965
    Just an antennae and wire harness...any car audio shop will have those or be able to get them. Antennas are like ~$35 & the wiring harness is ~$20, both depending on what head unit it is. I'd get a local car audio shop to install it for $100.

  3. #3
    I'm Tobnical Tob's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    Upstate
    Posts
    5,465
    I'll definitely be doing the install myself.

    So are you saying that our cars don't come with either the antennae (if not originally nav equipped) or the wiring harness?

  4. #4
    The Bees GOTSVT?'s Avatar
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    March 2006
    Location
    I'll take the red key please
    Posts
    11,390
    Red is for sirius sat/nav antenna and the other is for oem antenna
    -----------current SVT's-----------
    14 SVT Tuxedo Black SE Raptor
    14 SVT OW GT500 SVT TP, Recaros
    04 SVT OW TT Lightning-inbound
    68 RoadRunner 505 CI MOPAR
    -------------------------------------------------------------
    -----------past SVT's---------------
    12 SVT Race Red Scab Raptor - sold
    08 SVT Ebony GT500 kenne bell'd - sold
    04 SVT Comp Orange Cobra Whippled 2.3- sold
    04 SVT Comp Orange Focus eap - deer gifter
    03 SVT Sonic Blue Cobra - sold
    03 SVT Sonic Blue Lightning - sold
    02 SVT Pitch Black Focus - sold

  5. #5
    Grouchy Old Guy 54First's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 2010
    Location
    Central Valley, CA
    Posts
    404
    The rubber doohickey is a rear support. It rests on a crossbar. The GPS antenna is up under the drivers side dash if it's there. The sattelite processor is a separate unit that installs behind the panel on the passenger side of the trunk. GOTSVT is correct about the jacks. The audio system plugs should all be there, probably plugged into your current radio.

    You have to remove the top of your console (two screws at the back and just clips everywhere else) and the two radio side panels (pull straight backwards). Everything else is screwed together. It'll be obvious. (Famous last words) Oh, the cover panel for the radio has a tab tucked behind the metal dash piece (by the a/c vents).

    Hope that helps,
    Steve

  6. #6
    Grouchy Old Guy 54First's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 2010
    Location
    Central Valley, CA
    Posts
    404
    Two more items.
    You'll need a Navteq DVD for the nav unit.
    I've heard, but haven't verified, that the dealer needs to initialize the unit to the car.

    Steve

  7. #7
    I'm Tobnical Tob's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    Upstate
    Posts
    5,465
    Thanks guys. I found a writeup on modifying the TCS "default to off on startup" here that depicts rather clearly how to get the radio out. Mirrors what you said, Steve.

    I see 10E893 as the GPS antennae at about $100 retail



    But seriously, $220 retail for the DVD? Crikey!!


  8. #8
    Rookie SVT Poster gr8snkbite's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 2009
    Location
    Va
    Posts
    137
    Wicked mod Tob.....look forward to the writeup of install...

  9. #9
    Rookie SVT Poster abramsbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    134
    Where can i order one of these? Iv been wanting one for a long time.

  10. #10
    I Took My Own Avatar Pic Mike H's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 2005
    Location
    Southern Maine
    Posts
    535
    But seriously, $220 retail for the DVD? Crikey!!

    Ford Lincoln Merc Navigation DVD North America 6P *New* | eBay

    Snag that off fleabay and save yourself some money
    Last edited by Mike H; 07-01-2011 at 11:48 PM.
    Mike




    2000 Cobra R fast
    2004 Saleen Cobra faster
    2005 Benz SL65 AMG fastest

  11. #11
    WHYUMAD DavidHasselhoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    1,965
    It'd be cheaper to get a nice double din that's 10x better than a stock unit IMO.

  12. #12
    I'm Tobnical Tob's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    Upstate
    Posts
    5,465
    I'm aware of aftermarket units as I stated initially. But this is what I have and this is what I'll be installing.

  13. #13
    DirtyO2000 dirtyo2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 2010
    Location
    with mom
    Posts
    2,342
    TOB stop being cheap! LOL good find and all should workout well. Like all have stated everything should just plug in. Only thing you need to get is the GPS antenna ( should be the pink slot in the rear) and your set. I haven't priced one yet but I washed my car the other day and noticed mine is cracked. When I blow dry the car it has water coming out of it. Going to see what the warranty covers on that. Good luck and look forward to the write up. On a side note would have enjoyed reading a write up on the SYNC install.
    One day I'll have one
    Sig photo removed by moderator. It is entirely TOO large.
    That's the same thing she said

  14. #14
    I'm Tobnical Tob's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    Upstate
    Posts
    5,465
    New, unused factory nav systems generally don't come cheap. I wish they did.

    You mean your satellite antennae is cracked, not your gps antennae, correct?

    My wish was to install the latest nav/sync system that is factory Ford. I'll get my feet wet with this one and see what comes up in the future.

  15. #15
    SVT God 03 KB Sonic Blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 2008
    Location
    Madisonville, LA Vehicle: 09 GTR
    Posts
    2,047
    Sounds like you got quite a project on your hands.

    Does anyone know if you can tie iPhone/iPod into nav unit and control it on the screen? I've seen a few add on devices but most don't work with nav systems.
    Stock for now. Who knows for how long tho.

  16. #16
    I'm Tobnical Tob's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    Upstate
    Posts
    5,465
    So I stopped by my local Ford dealer today to check on the navigation antenna. Sure enough, he brought up the same screen as I was looking at on Fordparts.com...



    I was quoted ~$80 for it. I let them know I was going to check a couple of local sound shops for a better price but that I may be back. Both stereo stores were a bit clueless as to function and both asked why I wanted a factory nav unit (sigh). I'll be getting a factory nav antenna next week.

    So I headed home, hellbent on going through the install (for now) anyway. Following an excellent writeup I found at The Mustangsource I had the Shaker500 out in a few moments. It is easily half the weight of the nav unit. It must run hot too as there are holes everywhere on the case (nav unit has a fan at the rear). Note the missing antenna connection for the navigation antenna on the Shaker...







    Interesting that the Shaker is "assembled" in Mexico and not Japan



    Dash guts



    I plugged everything into the nav unit short of the gps antenna and slipped the attachment screws back in



    Almost there, I powered up the system to make sure it wasn't dead. It works!





    When I pushed the maps button on the unit the following screen comes up



    Obviously, I need the DVD. Trying to burn a DVD copy of the disc that is in the nav unit of my wife's 2007 Mountaineer, I quickly found I need a dual layer disc and burner. The Navteq DVD has a ton of data on it, so much so that you can't burn it on a standard DVD-R or DVD-RW. I found a few torrents of the latest North America Navteq maps for Ford and I'll head off to Office Max tomorrow for whatever hardware I need.

    What was really cool was how the unit ejects the discs. It cocked sideways and spit it out. I did not know it did that and either did my wife.

    Something else - there is no screen button for playing plug in devices such as a portable mp3 player. I think it should have shown up in the upper right hand corner next to the "SR" button and just under the digital clock in the following photo (the button should say "LINE IN")



    I'm assuming I have to get this programmed by the dealer to turn that function on (anyone know this specifically?). If I can't input mp3's to this nav unit like I could to the Shaker unit I'll be very disappointed, especially since the nav unit on my wife's Mountaineer allows you to do it. I'll have to look to see if it can somehow be turned on or recognized by its own diagnostic system.

    Something else, and I noticed similar comments when studying a number of threads where others had done this same swap - the sound doesn't rock as hard as the Shaker did (another programming thing?). Even manually cranking up the bass doesn't match the previous system. The Black Keys "I'm Howlin' For You" loses just about everything.

    My fingers are crossed. Any of you with experience here - by all means, please chime in.

    Tob
    Last edited by Tob; 07-02-2011 at 09:01 PM.

  17. #17
    DirtyO2000 dirtyo2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 2010
    Location
    with mom
    Posts
    2,342
    Hmmm, I'll do some research and get back to you on that one. It's the one in the middle of the trunk. Figured it was both. I have an aftermarket one on my truck that does both. Eliminated having two black boxes on the dash on each side lol. Not just one in the middle with two wires that come off and plug into the Nav. (Pioneer Z1 old school). Might be for the Satellite radio which makes me wonder where is the GPS antenna located?

  18. #18
    DirtyO2000 dirtyo2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 2010
    Location
    with mom
    Posts
    2,342
    On a side note. I know you are pretty thorough with things. Do the radio's have the same wattage? I know some Nav units really don't have any decent wattage output and normally have amps hooked up to them. If the radio that came out is say 50w per channel and the one you replaced it with is only 25w per channel it would explain your sound problems. Most with Nav have small amplifiers inside to make room for the other electronics. Just a thought.

  19. #19
    I'm Tobnical Tob's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    Upstate
    Posts
    5,465
    Dirty, I'm hoping that the guy that handles this stuff at my local dealer knows his stuff. I'm starting to wonder if output is regulated by the programming and if it can be changed to match the rest of the system. Which if it can, I'm sure the window is rather small.

  20. #20
    SVT God 03 KB Sonic Blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 2008
    Location
    Madisonville, LA Vehicle: 09 GTR
    Posts
    2,047
    I'm pretty sure the early 07 Nav units did not have the AUX input. I know they didn't have the jack in the center console so this could explain why the icon isn't showing up.

    From what I remember the Nav unit is a Shaker 500 unit. So it should be the same wattage out put.

  21. #21
    I'm Tobnical Tob's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 2009
    Location
    Upstate
    Posts
    5,465
    I see the Mustang had "late availability" regarding navigation systems but I also see that '07 models being listed as having an auxiliary input installed across the board.

    Regarding wattage, as it is installed right now - no way it is even close to the Shaker500.

    Off to the garage to see what I can dig up!

  22. #22
    Engine Lubrication Guru UnleashedBeast's Avatar
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    October 2010
    Location
    Pensacola, Florida
    Posts
    8,322
    Tob,

    My OEM NAV radio sounds the same in my 2009 Shelby as the Shaker 500 standard unit sounded in my 2008 GT. Dig deeper for information, there may be something missing.

    I have an iPod interface being used with my 2009 Nav OEM head unit. I had to use a product manufactured by "iSimple Gateway" model "ISFD571". I bought mine at the local Best Buy in town and paid just under $200.00 for it. It's direct plug in into the factory wiring, and all wires are hidden in the dash. No cutting of any wires required.

    iSimple Gateway allows for iPod integration into my OEM Nav radio (same as yours) and allows touch screen control of the iPod. Song and Artist are displayed on screen. The iPod is plugged into the harness, and stored safely in the center console. Unless you remove the iPod to update with iTunes on your PC, there is no need to access the iPod in the center console.

    External audio inputs are also available with this device, and will allow for RCA audio and 1/8" audio jack inputs. These connections will require external control of audio device, and will not display title and artist on screen.

    Exact model I used is pictured below
    Last edited by UnleashedBeast; 07-03-2011 at 12:10 PM.
    2014 Mustang GT: Sterling Gray | NAV | Recaros | Brembos | Glass Roof | back up camera | 6 speed auto

    2007+ Shelby GT500 UOA thread | 2012+ Boss 302 UOA Thread | 2011+ GT UOA Thread

  23. #23
    SVT God 03 KB Sonic Blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 2008
    Location
    Madisonville, LA Vehicle: 09 GTR
    Posts
    2,047
    Quote Originally Posted by UnleashedBeast View Post
    Tob,

    My OEM NAV radio sounds the same in my 2009 Shelby as the Shaker 500 standard unit sounded in my 2008 GT. Dig deeper for information, there may be something missing.

    I have an iPod interface being used with my 2009 Nav OEM head unit. I had to use a product manufactured by "iSimple Gateway" model "ISFD571". I bought mine at the local Best Buy in town and paid just under $200.00 for it. It's direct plug in into the factory wiring, and all wires are hidden in the dash. No cutting of any wires required.

    iSimple Gateway allows for iPod integration into my OEM Nav radio (same as yours) and allows touch screen control of the iPod. Song and Artist are displayed on screen. The iPod is plugged into the harness, and stored safely in the center console. Unless you remove the iPod to update with iTunes on your PC, there is no need to access the iPod in the center console.

    External audio inputs are also available with this device, and will allow for RCA audio and 1/8" audio jack inputs. These connections will require external control of audio device, and will not display title and artist on screen.

    Exact model I used is pictured below
    Do you have pics of the ipod controls on the screen?
    Ive been looking all over for something to connect my iphone into the unit other than head phone jack.

  24. #24
    Engine Lubrication Guru UnleashedBeast's Avatar
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    October 2010
    Location
    Pensacola, Florida
    Posts
    8,322
    Quote Originally Posted by 03 KB Sonic Blue View Post
    Do you have pics of the ipod controls on the screen?
    Ive been looking all over for something to connect my iphone into the unit other than head phone jack.
    No problem, I walked out to the car to take these for you.



    Last edited by UnleashedBeast; 07-03-2011 at 01:01 PM.

  25. #25
    SVT God 03 KB Sonic Blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 2008
    Location
    Madisonville, LA Vehicle: 09 GTR
    Posts
    2,047
    Quote Originally Posted by UnleashedBeast View Post
    No problem, I walked out to the car to take these for you.



    Thanks for the pics. So you don't actually control it from the touch screen. It just gives you feedback on the screen as to whats playing and you use the buttons to choose track.
    I was hoping it had controls on the screen kinda like a iPod wheel and you could touch it to go to next song or back.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •