RippinSVT's 96-98 Cobra Track Tips for Newbies... (sticky please)

Status
Not open for further replies.

RippinSVT

SVT Afficianado...
Established Member
We get a lot of questions on what these cars should run, if my time was good, how to launch or get the best times, yada yada yada, so i figured I'de make a beginners guide to running the best possible time in stock or basic-mod Cobras. Your first drag-strip experience should be exciting and enjoyable, and not a let-down. You'll feel a lot better going home with a glovebox full of 13 second slips than 14 or 15 second slips, that's for sure. Everything I list is either free or extremely cheap. Use these tips and hit the gears, and you WILL run 13's stock(ish) if the car is in good running shape. Guys with 94-95 Cobras, you can also expect better times than you would normally get, but maybe not 13's, and certain specifics will be different. I'm not a pro at all, just a weekend warrior, but I've figured out how to make these cars run good stock(ish)on street-tires. Much of this does not apply to more heavily modded Cobras or cars on drag-radials/slicks, but some is general. Read on, take notes.

"Getting the motor in peak running-condition"

Before you make the drive up to the strip, you should always have the car in good running shape. This means no misfires, smoke, etc.

1.) Check your sparkplugs. It only takes a few minutes and is very worth it. Got platinum plugs? Toss them in the trash and buy some cheap copper Autolites or NGK plugs and gap them at .056 (stockish motors).
If the existing plugs are black, deteriorated, or in just general bad shape, get the above mentioned plugs. All 8 will cost you $15-$20 and the car will run better.

2.) When's the last time you changed that fuel-filter? Don't know? Chances are it is time for a new one. They should be changed every