• Welcome to SVT Performance, your home for all things SVT

Can I do this (cam related)

Discussion in 'SN95 Cobras' started by crazycarlo, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. crazycarlo

    crazycarlo Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I know it sounds crazy but can I take my 98 cobra cams out of the heads and put them in the 01 heads I have by unbolting the cam caps and switching them both over at once with the chain still on both their sprockets?

    would it cause any problems timing wise if I just lined the chains and teeth back up the way they were in the 98 heads?
     
  2. 1989Gt.

    1989Gt. Banned

    Messages:
    913
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    A.v
    I don't know for sure but you should just re do the timing
     
  3. crazycarlo

    crazycarlo Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Yeah, I mean I had deff planned on making sure the timing was correct, but if i never move the sprockets and chains on the cams it should still be in the same time correct?
     
  4. Chris.94GT

    Chris.94GT New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    233
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    No because there are tensioners on the secondary chains.
     
  5. encasedmetal

    encasedmetal WHINO! Established Member

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    asheville NC
    sorry but lol
     
  6. crazycarlo

    crazycarlo Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    haha I know it sounds stupid thats why i asked. I guess somehow in my head it makes sense. Like I know you have to remove the tensioners. But if say you maked the chain and sprocket and then just put it back together on the other head so everything lined up the way it was on the 98 heads thats all i meant it to sound like.

    Basically what i mean is that Im not trying to advance my cams or retard them. I just want to install them like they would come from the factory. Shouldnt I just be able to line up the marks and not need a degree wheel or anything special?
     
  7. tt54l32v

    tt54l32v Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,371
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    dothan
    In another 30 minutes you can have the front cover off. If you have a pulley puller which can probably be borrowed from an auto parts store.
     
  8. crazycarlo

    crazycarlo Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    oh the cover is already off, heads are off the block. The only thing Im worried about is installing the 98 cams in the 01 heads, thats it. I know how to time the motor when the heads get on there Ive just never installed cams before. Im not going to buy a cam degree kit as I dont have the money.
     
  9. MLS

    MLS New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    514
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    You only need the intake cams and the primary gear is on the exhaust cam.
     
  10. encasedmetal

    encasedmetal WHINO! Established Member

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    asheville NC
    if you're not going to degree them-pull the timing chain off with the gears and don't let the chain come off. mark them just for security. With the heads off install the cams so that the keyways are pointed down (all 4 of them). turn the motor rotating assembly to TDC- set the heads on the motor and put the gears and chains on-(you may have to rotate the cams in order to accomodate the gears-that's ok). not the most precise method by any means but good enough for gov't work.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  11. crazycarlo

    crazycarlo Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Thanks thats exactly what I was looking for.
     
  12. encasedmetal

    encasedmetal WHINO! Established Member

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    asheville NC
    btw- the cam bolts are TTY so get new ones or ARP's
     
  13. crazycarlo

    crazycarlo Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    which ones the ones on the front of the motor or the cam cap bolts?
     
  14. encasedmetal

    encasedmetal WHINO! Established Member

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    asheville NC
    the TTY bolts you will need to replace minimally in the process are the bolts that hold the gears to the cams themselves and the crank bolt. so any bolt that holds a gear on lol-replace it!
     

Share This Page