• Welcome to SVT Performance, your home for all things SVT

Crankshaft Position Sensor & Camshaft Position Sensor, Labor Involved?

Discussion in 'SN95 Cobras' started by luke87gt, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. luke87gt

    luke87gt New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Hi Folks, I am wondering what is involved in terms of labor to replace a crankshaft and camshaft position sensor?

    What has to come out to gain access to these two sensors?

    Thank you,
    Luke
     
  2. clutch09

    clutch09 New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Location:
    .
    cam sensor is a piece of cake, one bolt nothing needs to be taken off to change it, it is located on the front of the engine near the coolent cross over. The crank sensor is a bit more work but not bad at all, you need to pull the a/c comp off ( 3 bolts ... I think ) and then the sensor is just one bolt. Both sensor bolts are a 10mm if I remember correctly. hope this helps.
     
  3. Tabres

    Tabres Not without incident Established Member

    Messages:
    9,575
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, Il
    Basic handle tools. Shouldn't take you more than 20 minutes at most.
     
  4. luke87gt

    luke87gt New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Thanks guys.

    If anyone is following my project thread, I am experiencing a problem where the car is not fully running commanded spark. The tuner has the knock sensors turned off and is reporting that the car is showing spark (in the datalogs) that is several degrees lower than he wrote into the tune.

    He suggested I begin by looking at these two sensors.

    Could they affect the way timing comes on?
     
  5. encasedmetal

    encasedmetal WHINO! Established Member

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    asheville NC
    I'm not so sure you have to remove the A/C compressor in order to remove the crank sensor
     
  6. Parts-is-Parts

    Parts-is-Parts New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Room
    Those sensors almost never go bad
     
  7. DOHCavanti

    DOHCavanti New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania

    +1, it's usually a wiring issue.
     
  8. encasedmetal

    encasedmetal WHINO! Established Member

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    asheville NC
    ford crank sensors go bad alot actually- when I worked at firestone we had quite a few come in where it was the crank sensor- granted it was mostly on SUV's but still
     
  9. Parts-is-Parts

    Parts-is-Parts New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Room
    How many of those were covered in leaking oil and sludge?

    Just curious if it was a bad connection or actually the sensor.
     
  10. encasedmetal

    encasedmetal WHINO! Established Member

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    asheville NC
    they were all dirty- but a simple sensor replacement seemed to do the trick
     
  11. luke87gt

    luke87gt New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Does anyone know if these sensors could potentially affect spark advance without throwing any codes?
     
  12. mysteed

    mysteed New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Woodstock, Ga
    I've had to replace the cam and crank sensors in both of my 4V motors.
     
  13. luke87gt

    luke87gt New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Just curious, what were the symptoms? I assume you got a code?
     
  14. mysteed

    mysteed New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Woodstock, Ga
    They were not communicating with the PCM. I tested this via both my Autoboss and Genisys and both of them could not establish a connection with the cam and crank sensors. An easy way of checking this for most people (those that can't get ahold of scanning equipment) is to try and datalog both sensors or you can replace the sensors with a known working one to see if communication is reestablished. :beer:

    Granted my BAB Cobra fiasco was screwed up from the moment I got the car but nevertheless they were replaced with Motorsport pieces.

    Edit: I also noticed that connectors on the cam and crank sensors were fairly brittle and the connectors didn't hold the sensor very snugly.
     
  15. luke87gt

    luke87gt New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    So did it throw a code?
     
  16. mysteed

    mysteed New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Woodstock, Ga
    No. The vehicle would not crank.
     

Share This Page