• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Mach 460 watts?

Discussion in 'Road Side Pub' started by SKMCOBRA, May 31, 2008.

  1. SKMCOBRA

    SKMCOBRA Just the Facts Established Member

    Messages:
    4,543
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    How many watts does the stock Mach 460 stereo system output? I am wanting to go to a Pioneer head unit with no amps to save weight and get rid of the two piece stock head unit, front amp, and rear deck system.
     
  2. 1LOSVT

    1LOSVT Sittn Lo on Chrome Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    Decatur,AL
    460 watts peak.
     
  3. SKMCOBRA

    SKMCOBRA Just the Facts Established Member

    Messages:
    4,543
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Where do you get that info from? My stereo which is in good working order gets no where near 400+ watts. :shrug:
     
  4. 1LOSVT

    1LOSVT Sittn Lo on Chrome Established Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    Decatur,AL
  5. FordSVTFan

    FordSVTFan Oh, the humanity of it all. Established Member

    Messages:
    27,758
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Location:
    West Florida
    How do you know it gets nowhere near 400+ watts? What method did you use to test it?
     
  6. redfiresvtsnake

    redfiresvtsnake Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ/Baghdad, Iraq
    +1, I'd like to know as well. Ford rates it at 460 watts.
     
  7. SKMCOBRA

    SKMCOBRA Just the Facts Established Member

    Messages:
    4,543
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    The age old ear method. LOL My last personal car had a 25x4way Pioneer and was much louder and clearer than the Mach 460 unit. The amps in the back are very very light if you've ever taken one out so there can't be much in them.
     
  8. @$$_Gob|n

    @$$_Gob|n Banned

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    cali baby
    + its 460 peek to peek thats not true power rms= p to p * .707 if memmory serves me right ii
     
  9. 99MustangGTman

    99MustangGTman 2VORNOT2V Established Member

    Messages:
    6,243
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    hence the name 460=460watts
     
  10. redfiresvtsnake

    redfiresvtsnake Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ/Baghdad, Iraq
    I think only aftermarket stereo components are rated at RMS power. Mach 460=460 watts peak power.
     
  11. JDStud6

    JDStud6 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,286
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    Charleston, SC www.McAfee.com
  12. redfiresvtsnake

    redfiresvtsnake Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ/Baghdad, Iraq
  13. @$$_Gob|n

    @$$_Gob|n Banned

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    cali baby
    its because its true power its a marketing gimic
    because if you label something as having 500W but its not on the same scale you can compare it to a system rated at 500W rms witch will be much more expensive

    everything is rms power except cheap electronics
     
  14. redfiresvtsnake

    redfiresvtsnake Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ/Baghdad, Iraq
    In that case I like my cheap Mach 460 stereo. Sounds great to me.
     
  15. TwinTurbo4vGT

    TwinTurbo4vGT Slowest GT alive :) Established Member

    Messages:
    10,895
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    lol you havent heard anything if you think that sounds good. My system would rape stock.
     
  16. redfiresvtsnake

    redfiresvtsnake Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ/Baghdad, Iraq
    I just don't want the extra weight of an aftermarket stereo.
     
  17. JasonSnake

    JasonSnake New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,825
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    have you ever held the stock unit recently lol
     
  18. redfiresvtsnake

    redfiresvtsnake Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ/Baghdad, Iraq
    I know the head unit is kinda heavy, but not to bad. The stock amps are fairly light. I don't need a sub box and the aftermarket amps to run subs and all the other speakers. Plus I don't care to lose any trunk space in an already sparse trunk.
     
  19. Fourcam330

    Fourcam330 New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,744
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Location:
    OH
    280 watts.
     
  20. JDStud6

    JDStud6 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,286
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    Charleston, SC www.McAfee.com
    :nono:

    Its 230

    JD
     

Share This Page