04 cobra cuts out at wot

34d

Established Member
I am new to svt performance, so bare with me, im sure there are other threads on here about this but I just purchased an 04 cobra that has basic mods, pullied, cai, hand held sct tuner, ice box. problem is when im under hard acceleration it cuts out when i shift to 2nd and 3rd. When i accelerate hard but steady at a slower pace its fine. Im guessing its a fuel issue but i dont know. the guy i bought it from said the next step for more hp was bigger injectors and a better fuel system. he also claimed the air fuel was around 95%. any help would be great. thanks!

34d

Established Member
04 cobra cuts out 2nd and 3rd

Thanks guys, I thought it may be that but thought I'd get other opinions.

Jimmysidecarr

Semi user friendly
Established Member
I am new to svt performance, so bare with me, im sure there are other threads on here about this but I just purchased an 04 cobra that has basic mods, pullied, cai, hand held sct tuner, ice box. problem is when im under hard acceleration it cuts out when i shift to 2nd and 3rd. When i accelerate hard but steady at a slower pace its fine. Im guessing its a fuel issue but i dont know. the guy i bought it from said the next step for more hp was bigger injectors and a better fuel system. he also claimed the air fuel was around 95%. any help would be great. thanks!

Is it a hesitation, or does it cut out and stay out?

What size upper pulley?
Ported Blower?
Stock lower?
Stock exhaust?

If it seems the fuel just cuts out:
If the upper pulley is small enough and you have a very free flowing exhaust with a ported blower, you may be passing enough air through the engine to max out or peg the MAF.

At this point the duty cycle on the fuel pumps can often max out.

A higher capacity MAF or a MAFia might be needed and it is possible that a KB BAP may be needed to help out your stock fuel pumps.

Data logging will be the way to find out.