ATTENTION: KILLER CHILLER USERS H/E bypass how to(switchable)

Status
Not open for further replies.

TNTLightning

DSG Terminator
Established Member
BEWARE: Long Read lol:uh oh:
The killer chiller is awesome in its own right:bowdown:. But i did a mod that i've been kicking around for a few months. Talked to Joe Kincaid(owner of Kincaid performance and maker of killer chiller) and discussed this with him.

The normal route for fluid for intercooler is--------Reservoir--pump--heat exchanger--intercooler--back to reservoir.
When you install killer chiller the new route is reservoir--pump--heat exchanger--killer chiller--intercooler--back to reservoir.
No matter the amount of line insulation you use, the heat exchanger becomes a cold exchanger and rids the system of cold water:dw:(especially for those of us here in Texas, this summer has seen 40+ days of 100+ degree temps).:nonono:

You can buy some 3-way valves off the internet for about $70 each or do what i did below and spent about $35 total.:rockon:
I went to my local hardware store and bought 3 one-way pvc 3/4" valves and 6, 3/4" nylon fittings, and 2, 3/4" T-fittings.

1. use teflon pipe sealant on the fittings and screw them into valves.
2. pull off front bumper cover(2 inner fender screws, a coupe under car push in nylon plugs, headlights, and a few nylon push in plugs by radiator area)
3. I cut the hose from pump(inlet hose to heat exchanger) and installed t-fitting and one way valve(in that order).
4. Cut and installed one way valve and then T-fitting (in that order) on discharge side of heat exchanger.
5. Now i used some 3/4" heater hose and the last one way valve and joined across the 2 nylon t-fittings(t-fitting to short hose to valve to short hose to other t-fitting).
Now you can shut off inlet and exit from heat exchanger and open up bypass.

New coolant flow is, Reservoir--pump--killer chiller--intercooler--back to reservoir. I insulated all hoses and lines.