A couple of oil change tips people hardly ever address.

smashedheadcat

Established Member
Do you lube the o-ring on the new filter with fresh oil prior to installation? I’ve been changing my oil for 20 years and have never had the o-ring stick to the engine during removal.

Anyway, nifty tip!

Snoopy49

Established Member
I also screw on the filled filter until the lubed gasket contacts the block and then mark the outside of the filter (vertical line or dot) on the back of the filter (pointing at the rear bumper) and then tighten 3/4 of a turn (270 degrees) and stop when the mark is pointing at the drivers side wheel.

I also place my oil pan directly under the filter and cover the area under the filter, frame, with a plastic bag so any errant oil won't find it's way into hard to reach areas.

Last edited:

Cman01

hello
Established Member
Since our oil drain plug is at the back of the pan, lifting the car at the front or driving the car up on ramps and pulling the plug will get quite a bit of oil out. I do this and let it drain..............sometimes for like 30-45+ mins. so pretty well ALL the oil gets drained.

I like changing my oil hot so not sure how the zip lock bag thing will handle hot oil leaking from the filter when you unscrew it (would it not melt the plastic zip loc bag??)

You'll find that if you do this and put the required amount of oil back in as listed in the OM your level will still be slightly lower than where it should be. Pulling the plug with the car level and not letting it all drain will not remove ALL the oil in the pan (yes there's always a little bit that won't be drained).

The other tips mentioned here are good (filling the filter before screwing it back on, checking to make sure the gasket came off with the old filter), these tips to me are mechanics 101......................you shouldn't work on your car if you don't do these things during an oil change.