Is it even worth getting a tuner for automatics?

Kinoor

So I was wondering if it was the ideal time to get a tuner for my GT 2014 Mustang so I decided to get a tuner but unsure on which is the best and reliable packing with tons of features.
I did some research but unsure of if should I go for a:
Nguage
SCT x4
SCT BDX (Rebate)

But since it is an automatic, what is all the differences between stock and getting an lund tune? Like how does it drive?

Additionally, is it possible to tune it to keep the gears longer like it would in S drive mode?
Another question, Can I change when the computer decides to shift when reaching a certain RPM?

Since it is my first time tuning after all, is it legal in Maryland for emissions?

Should I not bring in a tune at all?

rustang1

Established Member
Yes it is worth it to get a tune for an auto.
I would say an SCTx4 would be best but some like the Ngauge better because it is better for datalogging.

Just make sure your tuner will work with Ngauge.
Don't use the "canned" pre-installed calibration that comes with the tuner device.

I currently use AED, but have used Lund and Mike Roush before. My friend uses VMP. There are others like JPC that are in your neck of the woods. Mike Roush is the only one I would be hesitant to use because of being hard to contact and get replies.

With a custom tune from any one of the mentioned tuners, the car will feel like it has a different engine and trans.

Last edited:

clinton2003

Established Member
So I was wondering if it was the ideal time to get a tuner for my GT 2014 Mustang so I decided to get a tuner but unsure on which is the best and reliable packing with tons of features.
I did some research but unsure of if should I go for a:
Nguage
SCT x4
SCT BDX (Rebate)

But since it is an automatic, what is all the differences between stock and getting an lund tune? Like how does it drive?