My Procharger install Review

JustINcase

Established Member
A few people PMed me so I thought I would post this. Hopefully this helps others.

Are you thinking about ordering and installing a Procharger? Not sure if you can do the install yourself? Here is my review and write up of how it went.

First about my abilities. I have always liked cars and always changed my own oil and that’s about it. Then I found YouTube 2 years ago. This tool helped me change my own breaks and do minor repairs. I am by no means a mechanic and I am better behind a keyboard instead of under a hood. With that being said, here is how it went for me from shopping to post install.

1. Had to choose TVS vs Centrifugal. – This took the most time. Reading forums, research, asking around at car shows. I determined centrifugal was the way to go due to the fact I could keep the OEM art work under the hood and the install involved 0 cutting on my 2014 5.0 Premium. I just like the looks of the Ford engine covers. Again, I chose Procharger over Paxton because I did not have to modify the engine cover. For my abilities this was the solution for me.

2. Gears and head unit – Ok I was on the fence on this one. Was the standard gears too loud? Should I get the Helical Gears? I chose standard and I am glad I did. Open the hood it is loud. Still sounds great but rocks in a blender is a good description. My wife thinks something is broken inside :). But close the hood and it is just the right sound. a nice chirping sound. Cant hear the rocks in the blender noise with the hood down and its not obnoxiously loud either. I also opted for the new P1X upgrade to boot. If you are not trying to build a sleeper go with the standard gears. Just my 2 cents t here. They sound AWESOME.