Need advice on a HUGE promotion opportunity.

Branhammer

Established Member
Sorry in advice for the length of this thread.

I'm currently a GS-9/E-5 Air Technician in the ANG and am sitting in an E-7 slot, which means that in this job, I will never go higher than MSgt. Nothing wrong with retiring as a MSgt though.

I have recently been made aware of quite possibly the biggest opportunity I will ever have in my life. The Vice Commander of the AMXS just took a command position over in the personnel section, meaning that there is a full-time GS-12 position open in my unit. At first I just assumed that one of the traditional part-time officers would get the job and I'd have NO chance at it, but it has been open to anyone in the unit who meets the credentials to apply. The Group Commander has even sent out several emails to everyone in the MXG drawing attention to it. I figure if they just wanted to give the job to someone who is already an officer, they'd keep it low-key and not send an email to everyone in the group every week.

I want that job. Whoever gets it will be a GS-12 sitting in a Lt. Col slot. Once the person in the job has gained enough experience and ranks up to Major, the title will change from Vice Commander to Commander.

I've spoken to both the Group Commander and my Chief, and both have strongly encouraged me to throw my name in the hat. I know there will be lots of competition, but I only know of one other guy who is going for the job. He's a traditional part-time officer (O-2) and he is currently doing the job as a fill-in. At first I thought that would make him the obvious choice, but I'm not so sure. When I got my current job, I was in a totally different AFSC. The guy who was filling in was already in this AFSC and had been doing the job for a year, and I was still selected over him. So, I'm not counting myself out.

My Group Commander told me that if I apply I WILL get an interview. I