Problems with 65coupe misfire at wot

Kaden Alwazzan

Established Member
I recently bought this car. It fell on its face around 3500rpm and I diagnosed it as secondary’s not oppening which I was proven correct after I took the bowl off and found 10 year old black fuel all in it. Replaced the entire carb with a Holley 670 and initial drive felt decent and didn’t Baugh down. While trying to adjust mixture screws I gave it a blip in throttle and it backfired out the carb. Since then it idles rough and I believe misfires at WOT and does not stop until I lift the throttle. Since then I have replaced the power valve and plugs Checked the plug wires all seems to be good but still misfiring I am very new to these old cars and could use some help
891d2b54b5f3590d48d93ffe7df0b799.jpg
d2c092fd9cb63172bd196426b3917af9.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

decipha

Established Member
usually backfiring through the carb is due to being lean, prob best to put a new fuel filter on it and verify your fuel pressure doesnt fluctuate, then its a matter of dialing in the pump shot if your jetting and all else is correct

john11gt

Established Member
The timing needs to be checked at idle and above 3-4000 rpm because of the vacuum advance.

With the timing it’s at, it may idle fine but once it’s at wot the vacuum advance will cause to advance too much and cause a misfire.

Kaden Alwazzan

Established Member
The timing needs to be checked at idle and above 3-4000 rpm because of the vacuum advance.

With the timing it’s at, it may idle fine but once it’s at wot the vacuum advance will cause to advance too much and cause a misfire.

The timing is set to 6°. At higher rpm I have no way to check because the ballencer is only marked to 12°

I just find it weird that the car ran good and the backfire seems to have killed it. I’ve changed the gaskets. Plugs. I’ve re adjusted the mixture screwes. It runs beautifully but as soon as you’re wide open it jerks and rumbles horribly.

john11gt