• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

01 Cobra Ysi 8 Rib Conversion

Discussion in 'New Edge Cobras' started by Carbon Driven, Dec 23, 2017.

  1. Carbon Driven

    Carbon Driven Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,609
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    So its about time I get the conversion done on my cobra. Currently running a Vortech V7 Ysi supercharger and last time at the track I lost a rib from running it too hard I guess (7,500 rpm shifts).

    My question is, I have all the 8 rib pulleys but the tensioner, I have the single bolt tensioner and all I see out there is the Thumb RRR 3 bolt tensioner. Can I change the pulley on my stock tensioner to the 8 rib one or ??? I kinda doubt it as it probably would sit differently throwing off the belt alignment. So how and what do I use?

    Thanks

    20150910_215750_1024x577.jpg

    20150927_110035_1024x577.jpg

    20150910_180900._1024x683jpg.jpg
     
  2. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    15,426
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Contact Thump. They make a single bolt tensioner. Do some research about reclocking the tensioner though. I can't remember if Thump fixed the position of the pin or not.

    Misspelling brought to you by Tapatalk
     
    Carbon Driven likes this.
  3. Carbon Driven

    Carbon Driven Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,609
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thanks!! I should have went directly to the source. However since I have hte vortech sc it also needs to fit within the bracket.
    See the product at the bottom of their page. This is what I need but in a single bolt mount

    http://www.thumpracing.com/
     
  4. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    15,426
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Forgot about that issue. I ran it with an F1A.

    Misspelling brought to you by Tapatalk
     
  5. Carbon Driven

    Carbon Driven Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,609
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I may have to change timing cover to the 3 bolt and see if I can change my vortech bracket to match :(
     
  6. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    15,426
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Back when I ran a Vortech I was told the 3 bolt cover is better anyway. Apparently you can change the belt without removing the blower.

    Misspelling brought to you by Tapatalk
     
  7. Carbon Driven

    Carbon Driven Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,609
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'll ask my buddys over at vortech about getting a new bracket then and start getting ready to change the cover. At least I can get the RRR tensioner for higher hp and not have to pull the sc just to change a belt! Since all the pulleys are coming off too shouldnt be too much extra work to have the cover changed.

    Thanks!
     
  8. Deceptive

    Deceptive Brad's Spirit Donkey Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,928
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I was going to say to go 3 bolt as it is supposed to be more tension than the same single bolt. Superchargersonline has the brackets by themselves.
     
  9. Carbon Driven

    Carbon Driven Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,609
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I found the bracket at that website but I usually go direct to vortech, Thanks though.

    I text'd my buddy at vortech tonight and they are closed til the 2nd but I'll get something worked out with them and if its a new bracket or other tensioner solution by RRR etc its going to be great! Have something up my sleeve o_O
     
  10. Carbon Driven

    Carbon Driven Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,609
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  11. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    15,426
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Actually, I just remembered I used the Thump tensioner on my 01 with the Vortech. It was the single bolt tensioner. Because you have to space everything for the 8 rib you'll get the clearance for the tensioner. There's no way a 6 rib set up would clear. Definitely check the clocking of the tensioner. Mine wasn't giving enough tension and caused belt slip on the top end. So I was only seeing 15psi out of a T Trim.

    Misspelling brought to you by Tapatalk
     
  12. omj

    omj Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Oak Ridge
    If you decide to go 3 bolt (my personal preference) I have a timing cover I'll sell for $50+shipping from TN. Either way, the Thump RRR is a nice piece. If I was going as big as a YSi (I'm running a Ti), I'd want the extra piece of mind from a 3 bolt. One final thing, if you are shredding belts, you need to check your alignment with a laser. I shredded a rib front and rear. I bought a tool and I'm going to fix it this week.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2017
  13. omj

    omj Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Oak Ridge
    What did you make with your T trim?
     
  14. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    15,426
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Honestly I have no clue. I dynoed the car once with the first big bore set up. It made 496rwhp on a Mustang Dyno. That was 9:1 compression, 12psi, and 12 degrees of timing. The blower was a D1. When I ran the T Trim the engine was at 9.5:1 and I added Bassani mid length headers. But I never dynoed it with the T Trim or the F1A.

    Misspelling brought to you by Tapatalk
     
  15. Brutal Metal

    Brutal Metal Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    10,570
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Largo Florida
    The 01 is kind of a funky year for Vortech installs, most of the hardware isn't compatible with the 99 and vice versa..
     
  16. Carbon Driven

    Carbon Driven Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,609
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    So I do have to space out the Vortech bracket too? If so then I could see not needing the rrr slim fit tensioner
     
  17. Carbon Driven

    Carbon Driven Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,609
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thanks, Ill keep it in mind.
     
  18. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    15,426
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Yeah. You need to space it out to clear the 8 rib pulley as well as line everything up.

    Misspelling brought to you by Tapatalk
     
  19. Ironmancuck

    Ironmancuck Banned Established Member

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Daly City Ca
    Yes, you can run an 8 rib smooth pulley on the stock ford tensioner as long as you have a Kenne Bell or Vortech spacer and pilot kit that goes behind the factory tensioner. I have a Vortech Spacer, pilot, pulley shim and 8 rib pulley for sale that bolts onto stock style belt tensioner for sale.

    Thump racing discontinued their single bolt 2001-2004 Ford mustang tensioner

    I installed an American Racing Solutions billet single bolt tensioner on my 2001 cobra with a vortech and I had to cut and weld the Vortech bracket in order to make room for the new and wider billet tensioner. In my view, you would be wasting both your time and money by converting to a 3 bolt cover when a billet tensioner on a single bolt cover give all the tension that a race set up will ever need.
     
  20. Ironmancuck

    Ironmancuck Banned Established Member

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Daly City Ca
    The blower has to come off to change the belt. No way around it.
     

Share This Page