03 Cobra Coupe Ride Height Adjustment

carguy96

Established Member
So I think I have come to the conclusion that my Cobra is sitting too low for my liking/practicality for how/where I use it.
Right now from the top of my wheel wells to the ground, its about 25 3/4-26". I have been looking for lowering springs that will lower these cars about 3/4" to 1" but can't seem to find anything (I still have IRS).
I am wondering whether or not to utilize a set of stock springs and attempt to cut half of a coil out of it or not because I am not sure if I want the OEM "monster truck" look.
Also, I am not sure about coilovers as I have zero experience with them and have heard a mixed bag of reviews, especially as this car is used more for cruising/street related things vs being taken to the track.

Looking for suggestions on a way to get roughly a 3/4-1 inch drop over the factory ride height.

Skitzerman

NE Philly
Established Member
I cut a coil off, all the way around. I'm at 26.5" ground to wheel well lip, on all four corners.
P1013507.JPG

ad1b6d9e-2f3f-4f08-b2d6-712f414288b2_zpskobv82la.jpg

Last edited:

HudsonFalcon

Established Member
I had the same problem (crappy NY roads) and went from Eibach to H&R Race Springs. Brought the height up a bit but still looks good.

carguy96

Established Member
I cut a coil off, all the way around. I'm at 26.5" ground to wheel well lip, on all four corners.
View attachment 1544074
View attachment 1544075

Looks pretty good! Maybe cutting 1/2 a coil off will work for me then. I have a steep driveway into my garage and would love to not have to use wood planks to get it in and out of the garage without scraping my mid pipe flange on the entrance.
I am assuming that you are also running CC plates by dropping it that much? And when you cut the springs, did the car ride more or less the same, just with less travel in the suspension?

carguy96

Established Member