03 Cobra missing, backfiring, and sputtering below 3k Rpms. Need Avice

FoxBody Curves

Established Member
As stated in the title, my cobra is sputtering and backfiring below 3 to 3500 rpms then smooths out, it seems to me like its missing fairly bad. Its hard to tell during idle since it has stage 3 cams installed and i'm fairly new to this car so I cant say for sure. It's also worth mentioning that during WOT I haven't noticed the backfiring/hesitation and it takes off like a rocket. I pulled the plugs and cylinder 1 and 2 plugs were fairy foul but not terrible. I cleaned them all up and re-inserted them and it seemed to noticeably help for a while but not eliminate the problem. I do plan on doing a compression check, using a code reader, as well as checking the coil packs these next days off. Is there anything else I should be looking into? Any imput would be appreciated, Thanks.

EDIT: Also if it means anything to anyone. I am able to gently accelerate without any popping/backfiring or hesitation fairly well, but as soon as I give it to much throttle it starting showing those mentioned behaviors.

Last edited:

olympic

Established Member
Since the car has cams it's safe to assume it has been tuned. Has it always been this way for you or did it start suddenly? Perhaps it is tune related? First thing I'd do it clean the MAF sensor with electrical contact cleaner or brake cleaner. Sometimes they get fouled with oil from a cone filter. Then pull the vacuum line off the fuel rail pressure sensor, if there is fuel in the hose then the FRPS needs to be replaced. Since the issues occur mainly at part throttle it makes me think it's related to the MAF or oxygen sensors but it could be many other things.

After checking the codes and other obvious items the most useful thing would be a datalog so hopefully you got a tuner with the car. Post here if you need help setting up and reading the datalog.

FoxBody Curves

Established Member