1955 312 Engine shake

mechanicboy

Established Member
A buddy of mine has a 1955 Thunderbird and claims it's a 312 Y-block (which from what I find can't be the original engine) that's freshly rebuilt and fully restored with only 13 miles on it. He claims not to drive it because the engine shakes. Unfortunately he wasn't about to start it as the battery was completely done after sitting for a year. My question is, are these internally balanced? If they are is the only remedy to rebuild and re-balance the rotating assembly?
Thanks.

Steve@Tasca

I'm not an expert on Y-blocks by any means and I honestly doubt you'll find any here but before you guys jump in to a tear down the first thing to do would be to verify that everything is currently correct as far as plug wires/firing order, cam timing, ignition timing etc.

Just did a quick internet search and found this book as well, try this link http://books.google.com/books?id=I7...e&q=ford y block internally balanced?&f=false

-Steve

mechanicboy

Established Member
I'm not an expert on Y-blocks by any means and I honestly doubt you'll find any here but before you guys jump in to a tear down the first thing to do would be to verify that everything is currently correct as far as plug wires/firing order, cam timing, ignition timing etc.

Just did a quick internet search and found this book as well, try this link http://books.google.com/books?id=I7...e&q=ford y block internally balanced?&f=false

-Steve

Very nice, I missed that somehow but looks very useful. I'll be reading that when I have a chance.