2 TOB's in <1000 miles

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
What am I doing wrong? First TOB lasted about 200 miles, it was a Ram TOB. I set the preload to about 1/8-1/4" fork pushed in and it started chirping only after about 200 miles. Second bearing I put in was a Ford unit and it lasted 800 miles or so before it started clicking. Both of the TOB sounds would go away when I'd push the clutch in more...

I'm going to do that magnet mod next, but I don't understand why they keep failing. A local mustang shop gave me the 1/8-1/4" preload number and I googled around and people agree that these TOB's need some preload, and that they're designed to ride along the PP fingers.

So I'm asking, how do you adjust your clutch. I'm obviously doing something wrong.

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
I thought these bearings didn't have any preload on them? I have mine set up so that I have a little free play with the pedal all the way up. I can pull the the cable away from the firewall adjuster maybe a 1/4". I have the pedal height adjuster from MM, so I don't have a long pedal throw.

3B99SVT

Top down makes me smile
Established Member
Doesn't the LDC clutch mod push the clutch fork back so the TOB doesn't touch the PP?

GoatSlayer

Banned
Check your throwout bearing sleeve. Sometimes they tend to warp slightly after an extended time of usage and thus causing the throwout bearing to fail.

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
So I've been working on adjusting my clutch, the problem I'm having is unless I set preload, the pedal hits the floor before it disengages enough to let me shift. I need a good amount of preload for it to be enough, so there is no way possible I can any gap (even 1/16" gap between the PP fingers and the TOB).