2001 SVT Cobra - Cheapest way to gain horsepower naturally aspirated

Jamchin

Established Member
Hello all. I am new to this forum.

I just purchased a 2001 SVT Cobra Convertible. I don't plan on putting on a turbo or supercharger, I just want to do everything naturally aspirated. My goals are to have about 400hp at the crank (which probably translates to around 340 to 350hp at wheels?). My father and I have worked on his 1988 Mustang before (cams, intake manifold, throttle body, full exhaust, ECU upgrade and flash), and it was dyno'd at 260rwhp. Back in the day, that was a lot...now minivans have that kind of power haha. I am not a complete beginner when it comes to car modifications and understanding basic principles. My dad's 88' mustang sounded amazing and really gave you that feel of a "muscle car". I want the same kind of thing with my 2001 Cobra - sound and performance, but can be driven on the weekends!

I would love to hear about:
-combination of parts
-costs
-dyno numbers
-rideability
-reliability
-anything else you can think of!

Thanks a lot guys!

shurur

Established Member
This is what I call the NASVT recipe.
It is a list of na mods recommended by na svt from various threads. Na svt graciously fixed it for me.

There you go....$3500+..your labor.

NASVT fixed!!!
NA ~320 RWHP with 99-01 DOHC C-Head 4.6L:
K&N filter
OEM Cams
March damper
March hydraboost and WP pulleys
Long tubes
Hi Flow Cats/Cat Delete mid-pipe
Tune (canned..more $ for real tuner tune)

360-370 RWHP:
106100/106060 comp cams properly degreed.
short runner.
Tune

Last edited:

Jamchin

Established Member
Hey Shurur,

1. March Damper
-Do you know what the OEM underdrive pulley diameter size is?
-What is the diameter of the March Damper? I googled it and there seems to be different types for different models.

2. Hydraboost or Hydroboost?
-I tried googling this one...What is this? A booster pump to increase pressure for the brake system?
-How will this increase HP?

3. March WP Pulleys