3.5 EcoBoost pics

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
Looks awesome.

Looks like they're pulling the direct injection technology off of its big brother - the Powerstroke.

I have to admit, I'm pretty excited to learn more about this engine as more material is released.

GTSpartan

Yield right!!!!
Established Member
I heard that the rods are cracked powder metal, cast Al pistons, and the tubos are from Honeywell.

10.1 c/r

Last edited:

SID297

OWNER/ADMIN
Administrator
I heard that the rods are cracked powder metal, cast Al pistons, and the tubos are from Honeywell.

10.1 c/r

I'm sure that's true about the internals. The 6.4 Powerstroke has the same kind of internals and is doing fine making a ton of power. It's all in the design.

TERMIN8TR

Established Member
He got moved to the refurb'd plant? What was he working on before?

one's in skilled trades and the other was in the foundry if i'm not mistaken. that engine line has been set up and ready to go for some time now. they've just been waiting on vehicles

GTSpartan

Yield right!!!!
Established Member
I'm sure that's true about the internals. The 6.4 Powerstroke has the same kind of internals and is doing fine making a ton of power. It's all in the design.

You mean they can actually make power out of the 6.4?;-)

j/k.. I agree with you. GM's hasn't used forged in their motors for years and they seem to be doing fine. Some people get so hung up on the internals.

Last edited:

MachME

2V Power
Established Member
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IlSXReuvsE8"]YouTube - NEW EcoBoost Technology Animation[/ame]

typhoon5000

Established Member
Here it is, installed in the new SHO:
3546953503_a6c19b83fb_b.jpg