4.30's, 4.56's or 4.88's?

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
Hey guys, working on my Viper T-56 swap and trying to tie the last loose ends up by deciding on what gear I want to run in the rear end.

I did some plugging and chugging into an online calculator and my main goals are to:

1) have fun, I could care less about my time or mph, I'm looking for it to be fun to drive and I rarely/never take it to the drag strip.
2) have a great highway rpm for economy/long trips/wear and tear.

This isn't my daily driver.

The calculator suggests that I'll be around 2200 rpms with 4.88's at 70mph so that is great and just what I'm looking for, but from reading other posts on the forums, I've seen several other people comment about even 4.10's being too short of a gear for their T-56, so I would just like some input of what your opinion is before I bite the bullet and get them installed.

Ford Mustang: Mustang Tech: Calculators & Decoders: RPM Calculator
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Borg-Warner_T-56_transmission
Capture-1.png

Capture2.png

Capture3.png

Last edited:

Darkc0bra

....Pass
Established Member
I would do 4.10's because that is what I am about to do with mine. I have driven and rode it our cars with T45 and T56 and they feel amazing with the 4.10's. You would have too much fun with them installed. I know I would and I am ready to get mine and put mine it today. They are decent for Highway driving too. 4.10 FTW :D Since you are looking 4.30's and up I would do 4.30's

Last edited:

kxt

atomic number 30
Established Member
beware of info for the 03 or 00R geared t-56, the viper gearset is WAY different. I have 4.30s and a viper geared t56 and love it. At a minimum go 4.30s and do not look back. I'd go 4.56s if/when I redo this rear end. the viper has such a high first gear i can take it till about 40mph then the 2-4th are close ratios, when you hit that .5:1 OD all the revs drop away and you're back to just sipping gas on the Interstate.