Alternator preferences

Stage 4.6

Established Member
Looking at replacing my stock alternator and upgrading to the Big 3 cables. As i'am sure i am on borrowed time with my stock alt, especially since upgrading my fuel system.

I'm undecided on which to purchase, between J2Fab and Mechman? I've read and heard good things about both. Wondering what some of you guys have had good success with?

Also are these both straight replacement alternators, any modifying involved?

Last edited:

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
I am satisfied with my Mechman, no modification needed except they need to know what pulley setup youre running. Its not a standard size pulley, not sure about J2Fab. Have fun swapping your alternator out, just remember the origami you go through on removal and reverse it on the install.

Last edited:

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
Alternators are like blowers. Everyone likes what they're running. I have a J2 Fab 200amp mine and I'm happy with it. No voltage loss at all. I think the pulley is a little bigger than stock as I remember my belt being a little tighter to get on. No mods needed to install it though.

I don't have experience with any other brands aside from rebuilt stockers.

Stage 4.6

Established Member
I think i read on their website that their (J2fab) alt pulley can support, up to a 6lb. lower pulley.
Appreciate the input.

TerminatoRS

Established Member
Premium Member
Party Liquor Posse
All the way up to 6? I want to say that the pulley that comes on the J2 is good for stock up to 4lb lowers. All I remember for sure is that whatever pulley comes on it is compatible with stock and 2lb lowers. 3.2" pulley keeps jumping out in my head. ~81mm. Makes sense to me at least. lol

olympic

Established Member
I've had a Mechman alt for 6 years now and it's held up well. A couple small complaints I would have: