Amazon Fire TV question for our video experts.

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
So I've been using an Amazon Fire TV 4K stick for about 2 years. About two weeks ago I noticed that ESPN basketball games were sub-par quality. Very noticeable. I had to watch the last two UConn Women's NCAA championship games with some distain. The video was fuzzy and looked to be like 480 vs. the normal 720/1080. After a couple of hours sleuthing with Google, I was leaning towards the culprit being ESPN downgrading their stream due to high user demand. Researched a bit deeper researching the YouTube TV app, and then the actual Fire TV 4K stick. Well, I read a post where someone said that upgrading to the latest Fire TV 4K Max stick should fix the problem. So I went to Amazon, read up on the 4K Max stick and noticed there was a $20 discount so I figured, what the heck, I'll try it. At that point I had no specific reason to expect it would solve me problem.

It was delivered a couple of hours ago and I set it up right away. Moved my existing Amazon Fire TV profile to the new device and WALLA! Perfection! The ESPN channel video was perfect HD. Night and day difference!

OK, so now a question for those here who have a lot more video expertise than I do. Why did the new stick solve my video quality issues? Was it simply a case of my 2-year old stick failing? I can't think of any other reason. I don't know exactly what these sticks do, so that is a factor on me not knowing for sure why the new stick corrected my quality issues. I will say that months ago the quality (I think) was very good but I don't remember it being this good. Maybe it was, just hard for me to know for sure.

quad

Established Member