Any decent priced USA made hand tools left???

03cobra 87GN

Established Member
Hey guys,

I was looking to get another set of mechanic hand tools. Right now I have a mixture of craftsman stuff my father gave me and from my grandfather most of it is at least 15yrs old. I'm a machine designer now at work, still finishing my BSME mostly I'm at a computer designing the machines, but I have been going in our shop more and more to help put together machines or build stuff and I have been slowly bring some of my tools from home to work most of the time I still have to ask somebody to borrow something which I don't prefer to do. So that leaves me here.

Now my first thought was to get another craftsman set, since I already had some and last I knew they were made here. at least well I thought :bored: I stopped by sears hardware last night OMG craftsman seems to be junk now... the plastic selector on their ratchets is plastic now and the one I felt barley made and engagement sound. Look at all the packaging and all I saw was china.... Can't say I'm happy with that.

That got me looking online for other sets of tools and It seems most low end tools are all imports.... seems only USA made tools are an arm and a ass. I'm no pro wrencher so I really didn't want to spend a ton on occasionally used tools but would like to get some American tools if I can help it.

So do you guys know of any hand tools that are made here that are reasonably priced? so far I found proto, mac, matco, SK, Cornwell, Armstrong, wright etc. out of what I want to spend for what I need.

On a side note If I cant find any USA made tools I did look at Kobalt and they were way nicer than what was at sears for around the same money. The Kobalt tools seem to be made in Taiwan and From what I found online that's better than china. But hopefully you guys have some other options that I don't know about. thanks for any help.

-Tim

DSG2003Mach1

Established Member
Premium Member