Anyone running 160 deg T-Stat?

Shadowgray03

Snake Charmer
Established Member
Im just curious if running a 160 deg T stat has caused any issues with anyone. Im a bit worried the ECT's wont get to proper operating temp. Any feedback appreciated.

Justicem

06/26/02 #1018
Established Member
I asked the samething a little while ago and for the most part people were saying that if your car isn't overheating, then just leave it alone. I also have one but haven't installed it.

Poisonous Mods

little moddie
Established Member
whats up larry :)

mixed info on this one. maoun is not running any Stats at all and he swears he isnt having any issues and he didnt get a tune for it to be adjusted.

i remember Bingo13 & Toofast4u mentioned about getting it adjusted to avoid what u just mentioned.

subscribing.

Last edited:

yeasure

Old School ModularMan
Established Member
I've been running a 160 for about 5 months, no problems at all, everything seems normal but thats all i can say about it.

Shadowgray03

Snake Charmer
Established Member
Originally posted by CastIronMan
I've been running a 160 for about 5 months, no problems at all, everything seems normal but thats all i can say about it.
Thats the problem if your running a t-stat thats too cold and arent properly monitoring ECT, then you run the risk of the engine coolant not properly heating up, when this happens the EEC generally causes car to run rich, in turn the engine is submitted to a lot more fuel and runs the risk of the added fuel flushing the cylinder walls. It may not manifest itself into a problem right away but can cause severe early wear.

Originally posted by Justicem
I asked the samething a little while ago and for the most part people were saying that if your car isn't overheating, then just leave it alone. I also have one but haven't installed it.