Belt Length-Pulley Question-New Owner

03 MG VERT

Established Member
New Terminator owner here, a 2003 Mineral Grey convertible, 47k miles. This site has been my go-to, prior to and since my purchase, for learning about these cars. Had a few Fox cars over the years (all N/A) but this is a different animal! I've done many searches and reviewed reference guides (Cobra Bob's, Billetflow, etc.) trying to determine belt length for my setup. While I didn't find my exact combo, I think I'm in the ballpark, but wanted to toss this out to make sure I'm not missing something since I'm still learning here.

My car has a RR 2.75 upper, 4 pc. Billetflow pulley set (3-100mm, 1-92mm, newer style bracket), and a 2 lb Metco lower. I came up with a 77" belt...?

The belt on the car now looks to be slipping and I can't see any markings indicating manufacturer, size or part #. There's no squeaks, squealing or odd noise, but when the car gets into boost, I can smell burnt rubber and have a good amount of belt dust flung up on the underside of the hood and built up on the tensioner bracket. The tensioner is sitting close to the stop on the left too.

I've already ordered a new stock tensioner (not sure one on car has ever been replaced) and want to pick up a new belt (from what I've read prob a Gates with the RR non-slip would be best) and start there. This isn't my DD, so I'm resisting the urge to drive it until I get the belt issue squared away. There's also noticibly more wear on the back (smooth) side of the belt on the motor side. The Billetflow's also have some pretty good wear grooves in them. Once I figure out how to post pics, I'll add some for reference.

Sorry for the long newbie post! Any guidance on belt will be appreciated.

Bdubbs

u even lift bro?
Established Member
Premium Member