Best cheap/free CAD program for home computer

Jroc

Established Member
Let's say $100 or less.

At work I have AutoCAD LT.(I think the 2012 addition) I've had to teach myself how to use it to run our new waterjet, but I've gotten to where I like it. It's fun to be able to draw all kinds of things up, and once you start to learn how to use it and get good on it, it's not that hard to draw some pretty involving stuff.

Anyway some of the engineers at my job use really highend programs like CATIA, and/or SolidWorks, but I'm just a Tool Maker and get AutoCAD. That's fine though and I like it.

Anyway I was wanting to get something for my home computer to be able to draw with, but I'm not looking to spend 3 or 4 figures like the industrial programs command.

I was thinking about something like this TurboCAD, but I have no experience with it.
Amazon.com: TurboCAD Deluxe 18: Software

What do y'all think?

Remember this isn't for work, but just to use at the house.

Last edited:

jason6488

Established Member
if you're used to autocad go with doublecad. its autocad knockoff and totally and utterly free. buttons sre even in the same place.

VerySneaky

Bug Annihilator
Established Member
Let's say $100 or less.

At work I have AutoCAD LT.(I think the 2012 addition) I've had to teach myself how to use it to run our new waterjet, but I've gotten to where I like it. It's fun to be able to draw all kinds of things up, and once you start to learn how to use it and get good on it, it's not that hard to draw some pretty involving stuff.

Anyway some of the engineers at my job use really highend programs like CATIA, and/or SolidWorks, but I'm just a Tool Maker and get AutoCAD. That's fine though and I like it.

Anyway I was wanting to get something for my home computer to be able to draw with, but I'm not looking to spend 3 or 4 figures like the industrial programs command.

I was thinking about something like this TurboCAD, but I have no experience with it.