Best Longtubes For The Money?

bigred2013

Established Member
I've come across a set of JBA 1-7/8 Natural Finish Longtubes & 3" OR X BRAND NEW for $700. From a friend. From my understanding, the "Natural" finish is 409 stainless, correct? Will this type suffer from surface rust?

Also, has anyone had fitment issues or problem w/ the JBA Longtubes? I plan on installing w/ a friend on a lift so. Hopefully everything will go smoothly.

What type of gaskets should be used? I'm a noob when it comes to headers so! I know to stay away from the cardboard/paper type gaskets. Been told Ford OEM is the best way to go

Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks

orange_whiner

Pro-class stoplight racer
Established Member
Plenty of documented issues with pypes including myself. I've heard jba is decent. And only use the oem gaskets (you can reuse) and the studs if you can.

scott_0

Established Member
Plenty of documented issues with pypes including myself. I've heard jba is decent. And only use the oem gaskets (you can reuse) and the studs if you can.
Pypes are good, you might have an issue with the steering shaft hitting but not always and it's easily remedied, FYI there are plenty of documented fitment issues with the over hyped kooks and ARH as well. as far as gaskets I reused my stock header gaskets as well the studs and nuts

Isnt there a power difference too? Like ARH will put down more power incomparison to JBA right?

In4Answer
they're both 1 7/8 primaries so I doubt it

I have pypes lt's and offroad x and for the price I think they're great!
I'm happy with my Pypes overall, had to get a header replaced (Pypes customer service was great) the replacement rubbed the steering shaft but that was easily fixable

kcsvt94l

1D 10 T Error
Established Member
From what I've seen JBA have been great power and fitment wise. Charba has JBA maybe he can chime in. That's seems like a good deal and 1 7/8 should perform pretty good.

bigred2013

Established Member