budget 351w

venomouscobra98

Established Member
I have a 1991 351w out of a 91 F-250.Can you guys recommend a good budget build for this engine?Wanting to run in the mid 11's to high 10's, in the 1/4 mile.I'm putting the engine in a 94 gt chassis. I already have built rearend with 4:10 gears and am planning on an AOD trans.But if you guys thick a C-4 would be better let me know.The car will be mainly a strip car and gutted with 90/10 shocks up front and 50/50s on the rear with drag launch springs.I'm new at the pushrod small block stuff.Any information on budget built a 94 5.0 or the 1991 351W would help.thanks

wheelhopper

Established Member
should be easy with a moderately built 351.

Since it is mostly a drag car, I would go with a 10:1 compression. If your budget allows I would do a stroker set up. A HCI build should get you well into the 400rwhp. I would also go with a C4, easier/cheaper to build and lighter. The key will be for you to set up your suspension correctly for good 60' times. It looks like your off to a good start with that, but I would call JPC for advice with that. They do a great job with drag suspension set ups.

truebluedevil02

Captain Jackstands
Established Member