Buying a Canadian car in the US

BlckBox04

I am the liquor
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
7,022
Location
NJ
So I have a line on a set deal to buy a c6z however it’s a Canadian built car.
My main concern is that the gauges are all metric but the car has a clean two owner history and low mileage. The HUD can still read in mph so it’s not the end of the world and it was titled and owned in Arizona for 3 years.
I’m trying to research possibilities for changing the cluster.
Would this concern anyone else?
 

Corbic

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
7,248
Location
Desert Oasis
So I have a line on a set deal to buy a c6z however it’s a Canadian built car.
My main concern is that the gauges are all metric but the car has a clean two owner history and low mileage. The HUD can still read in mph so it’s not the end of the world and it was titled and owned in Arizona for 3 years.
I’m trying to research possibilities for changing the cluster.
Would this concern anyone else?
No idea if the cluster needs to match the ECU/Vin. You should check up on that.

Other concerns is the warranty and recall coverage, but I'm sure it's outside of warranty already.
 

BlckBox04

I am the liquor
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
7,022
Location
NJ
No idea if the cluster needs to match the ECU/Vin. You should check up on that.

Other concerns is the warranty and recall coverage, but I'm sure it's outside of warranty already.
Yea it’s an 08 z06 warranty doesn’t exist for that anymore lol plus I plan on modding the hell out of it. I did see something that c5 guys were putting c6 clusters in with a little effort but the ecu stuff remained the same.

I have a Canadian 2001 Bullitt. You get used to it, and it’s kind of unique.
Good to hear
 

VRYALT3R3D

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
5,915
Location
Toronto, ON
Can you get pictures of the cluster?

What about smog?
SMOG isn't an issue as all of the Canadian Corvettes are EPA Compliant as well. There should be a sticker under the hood indicating such. When it was imported they check it at the border.

Anyhow, the cluster could be changed but you can just set it to MPH since it is practically digital. It is not worth ripping out the dash to fix it imo. Or you can finally learn the metric system :)
 

Deceptive

Brad's Spirit Donkey
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
10,440
Location
Nashville, TN
The power is going to be different in a Canadian car. It is measured in maple syrups per moose knuckles which is lower than horsepower. It is like 83% of what a similar US Vette would make. Also, the horn will sound different. US car horns “beep” where Canadian cars are a Canadian Goose-like “honk”.


Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com
 

BlckBox04

I am the liquor
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
7,022
Location
NJ
SMOG isn't an issue as all of the Canadian Corvettes are EPA Compliant as well. There should be a sticker under the hood indicating such. When it was imported they check it at the border.

Anyhow, the cluster could be changed but you can just set it to MPH since it is practically digital. It is not worth ripping out the dash to fix it imo. Or you can finally learn the metric system :)
The HUD is digital but the rest of the gauges are still analog.

as far as emissions, it’s been in the US for several years and has car fax reports of passing emission tests so it’s fine there.
 

JAJ

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2012
Messages
578
Location
Vancouver, Canada
If it's a Corvette, then it was built where all Corvettes are built. As for instrumentation, you could probably swap out the dash for a US dash, but what's the point? It won't drive any differently. But wait, before I say that, Canadian horses are bigger, stronger and smarter than all the rest, so while it has the same "number of horses power" as US models, it'll accelerate quicker and go faster.
 

GNBRETT

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Premium Member
Beer Money Bros.
Joined
Oct 14, 2010
Messages
3,935
Location
Middle Earth
Bro I went thru the exact same thing a few years ago buying a Mustang with the gauges being in Kilometers and I will admit it was the most annoying thing ever and getting it registered was a PITA as well. DMV didnt even know how to make the transaction smfh it was a nitemare.

Make sure u low ball him cause he gets way more money up there for it due to the exchange.

The whole paperwork thing and getting all the documents is an experience I will NEVER go thru again.

So I have a line on a set deal to buy a c6z however it’s a Canadian built car.
My main concern is that the gauges are all metric but the car has a clean two owner history and low mileage. The HUD can still read in mph so it’s not the end of the world and it was titled and owned in Arizona for 3 years.
I’m trying to research possibilities for changing the cluster.
Would this concern anyone else?
 

HEMIHUNTER

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
5,984
Location
florida
100kph= 62 mph
That’s all you need to know.
Gauges on the minus side =bad.
Have fun.



Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com
 

BlckBox04

I am the liquor
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
7,022
Location
NJ
Bro I went thru the exact same thing a few years ago buying a Mustang with the gauges being in Kilometers and I will admit it was the most annoying thing ever and getting it registered was a PITA as well. DMV didnt even know how to make the transaction smfh it was a nitemare.

Make sure u low ball him cause he gets way more money up there for it due to the exchange.

The whole paperwork thing and getting all the documents is an experience I will NEVER go thru again.
The car is already in the US and it’s gone through inspection a bunch of times in Arizona. I don’t think the inspection station in nj even looks at the gauges just as long as there’s no CEL
 

GNBRETT

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Premium Member
Beer Money Bros.
Joined
Oct 14, 2010
Messages
3,935
Location
Middle Earth
Well GL seems like a good score.

The car is already in the US and it’s gone through inspection a bunch of times in Arizona. I don’t think the inspection station in nj even looks at the gauges just as long as there’s no CEL
 

Kiohtee

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
9,363
Location
NC
I'm just surprised that you can't toggle between the two like you could in the C5. At least on some models if I remember correctly.
 

BlckBox04

I am the liquor
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
7,022
Location
NJ
I'm just surprised that you can't toggle between the two like you could in the C5. At least on some models if I remember correctly.
HUD you can, the gauges are all analog which would mean they would need to be physically changed
 

Kiohtee

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
9,363
Location
NC
HUD you can, the gauges are all analog which would mean they would need to be physically changed

Yeah, I was just saying it's curious that the C5 here in the states could toggle between moose hooves and bald eagles, at least from the seven or so I just looked at, but the C6 can't. The C5 has analog gauges too.
 

BlckBox04

I am the liquor
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
7,022
Location
NJ
Yeah, I was just saying it's curious that the C5 here in the states could toggle between moose hooves and bald eagles, at least from the seven or so I just looked at, but the C6 can't. The C5 has analog gauges too.
I think you can get a few more bald eagles from translating from moose hooves. But the guys on corvette forums could be lying to me
 

Users who are viewing this thread



Top