• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Car won't start =/

Discussion in 'SVT Shelby GT500' started by DGladhill, Oct 23, 2014.

  1. DGladhill

    DGladhill Member Established Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    2007 GT500, haven't driven it in a couple days. Went to try and start it and it will crank but not turn over :fm:. Can smell the fuel, can hear the pumps running and the spark plugs were installed right around a month ago when I installed my KB 2.8 kit. Battery was tested ( and bad ) and replaced this morning, but still no changes - I *assume* I'm getting spark, as the plugs are new. Not throwing any codes either. Car has < 14k miles on it, never tracked. Anyone have any ideas? Next step will be me poking around and making sure all my grounds are clean.

    Engine Mods:

    KB 2.8LC Stage 3 Kit ( intake, plugs, dual TB, BAP, etc. )
    C&R Heat Exchanger
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
  2. SirShaun

    SirShaun Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    Check fuses? Maybe a fuse popped during battery drain? Battery came charged right? Put it on a tender and make sure its fully charged.

    Maybe check to see if the anti theft system halted vehicle operation? May be a way to reset it or something.

    Do interior lights come on with new battery?

    I doubt a ground changed or anything serious occurred.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
  3. als97cobra

    als97cobra Member Established Member

    Messages:
    189
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Location:
    Lindenhurst, Illinois
    cranks but no fire? might be a fuel rail pressure sensor or a crank positioning sensor. is there any CEL of any type?
     
  4. DGladhill

    DGladhill Member Established Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Battery is sitting at ~12.4v, all lights both interior and exterior work. Anti-theft system light is off. Suppose I'll poke around a bit more with the fuses.

    Negative on the CEL.
     
  5. Kenneth

    Kenneth Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,376
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Not sure if it's the same, but recently I had #52 ir 56 go out on me. Swapped the relay and it fired right up.
     
  6. gtt500

    gtt500 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    ma
    If you use a diablo mafia,
    make sure it's plugged-in.
     
  7. DGladhill

    DGladhill Member Established Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Checked fuses ( kick panel and engine bay ), swapped around relays ( used the rear window defroster - what are the chances of it blowing!? ) and still no change. Grounds in the bay look good.

    Me thinks I'll go grab a new relay from the parts store and just start swapping it with the ignition/starter related ones and hope that it gets me going, kind of stumped at this point. :cryying:
     
  8. Shelbysteve

    Shelbysteve New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    Check fuel pump fuse under hood. Mine blew when battery was jumped.
     
  9. ZeroSVT

    ZeroSVT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Do you have access to anything with ELM327 or STN1110 chipsets? Such as the cheap OBD2 Devices from ebay or amazon?

    If so, you could use Forscan for further diagnostics!

    Cheers,
    -Matt
     
  10. DGladhill

    DGladhill Member Established Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    All fuel/ignition/starter/PCM related fuses have been checked, I'll run by them again though.

    Negative, but I wouldn't mind grabbing one if it'll be beneficial in the future.
     
  11. ZeroSVT

    ZeroSVT Member Established Member

    Messages:
    765
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Location:
    Kansas City
  12. DGladhill

    DGladhill Member Established Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Ordered, would have done it sooner but I was out of town all weekend.

    Will be testing all fuses in the engine bay today as well as the in-line fuses for the BAP. Hopefully I just missed something small :kaboom:

    Edit: All the fuses in the bay were tested and passed both visually and with a multimeter. So much for it being something as easy as a fuse ;(
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2014
  13. nxhappy

    nxhappy Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,594
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Location:
    AZ
    just curious how you wired your C&R HE? I only had one fuse installed rather than 2 fuses, the car BARELY ran.
     
  14. DGladhill

    DGladhill Member Established Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Wired to turn on when the ignition is in the "ON" position with the add-a-fuse setup. Two fuses in the lines, both are good.
     
  15. SirShaun

    SirShaun Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    Have you tried clearing the PCM? Unhook the battery hold foot on brake until brake lights go off? Drain the car of any energy?
    I know the battery was unhooked to be replaced but wondering if the car held a charge somewhere.
    I really can't see this being anything major considering all you did was replace the battery.

    Have you tried removing the BAP and seeing if she will crank?

    Did you get gas before you parked it?

    PCV Valves all hosed securely?

    Throttle Body blades moving freely?
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2014
  16. DGladhill

    DGladhill Member Established Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Haven't tried removing the BAP or clearing the PCM. All PCV valves look good, car has ~3/4 tank of gas - was filled a few days prior to the issues. I'll go ahead and try clearing the PCM and check to make sure the blades are moving freely.

    And just to clarify, the car wasn't starting prior to me changing the battery - I took the battery in to get tested because the car wasn't starting.
     
  17. nxhappy

    nxhappy Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,594
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Location:
    AZ
    maybe it's a fluke and they gave you a bad battery. Might be worth a shot to take it in, and have it tested.
     
  18. DGladhill

    DGladhill Member Established Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Indeed. Going to check for spark tomorrow, couldn't find my 4mm socket to take off the passenger side coil cover. Checked the plugs + checked gap on the driver's side, everything looked good. If I'm getting a good spark, I'll bring the battery back ( and possibly bring the starter too! ) and have it checked out.
     
  19. nxhappy

    nxhappy Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,594
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Location:
    AZ
    ya know, the alternators in these cars can cause problems. Maybe the alternator is bad, hence the bad battery issue.
     
  20. DGladhill

    DGladhill Member Established Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Meh, I'm fairly certain it was the original battery - can't complain about it going strong for 7 years :p
     

Share This Page