careless driving ticket in nj

Jman

Established Member
well last saturday i took out the cobra to go drop off some paperwork a couple towns over. (I'm a truck driver and i had to drop off all the bills and my invoice to get paid the next week.) well on the way through town at a light, i whipped around a turn from a light. i know how it sounds but it wasn't anything crazy. just gave it a little kick no rubber. I got pulled over and was issued a careless driving ticket. although i just really accelerated faster but wasn't speeding. I was being respectful. He also made it a point that he is going to issue me a summons with my firefighter plates. don't really know where he was going with this. Now i have a class A and a clean record.. I asked the other officers in town and said it's 2 points. Would I be able to plea it down to unsafe operation? How does this work? If so would NJ still tack on any points? I drive tractor trailer and see stupidity all the time. the one time I just give her a little more umph i get busted figures. Just wanted to ask you LEO's your opinion and a little advise. I can't really afford any points since i pay my own trucking insurance and i've heard the states a little sensitive with commercial liscenses. THANKS

Jersey Vics

www.SVTregistry.com
Established Member
I was in the same boat before I got my CDL four years ago and I got it reduced to no point = Unsafe Driving.

I was hanging out with a few members of this site in Woodbridge Mall, I was giving them a ride from one side of the mall parking lot to the other where the Lightning was parked.

God pulled over by a Woodbridge PO in an unmarked Vic saying I didn't come to a full stop at a mall parking lot stop sign. I replied to him that I did stop and he issued me a careless driving ticket.

It was embarrasing.

--Russ

Jman

Established Member