Changing my mind on boost. Need some knowledgeable help

DaveWertz

Established Member
Well this is my first mod motor so Im still learning these pesky things. Anyhow the car was built for boost but I am changing my mind and want to keep it N/A.

Here is a short list of internals done now
MAC long tubs, MAC X pipe into SLP loudmouth dumped behind the axle, kellog crank, forged manley h beams, .20 over with JE forged pistons, valve job, factory recondition heads with MLS head gaskets, 9 thread spark plug inserts, factory cams, imrc delete plates, ram hd clutch, Pro 5.0 shifter, aluminum drive shaft, 4.10 ford MS gears. aremotive stealth 340 in tank pump, and lots and lots of suspension work.

My question is, with these mods already done which route is easy, cost effective to gain the most power keeping NA. Boost is out of the question right now due to cost value.

DSG2003Mach1

Established Member
Premium Member
what compression did you go with? You may be mostly pissing into the wind and would be better off saving up.

DaveWertz

Established Member
While I want to save for boost by the time that happens I might have a new 5.0 HAHA. But on the subject of these cams. How much power is really expected on cam swaps? I see allot of people sometimes loose power when putting in different cams. But aside from that, what cams have seen the most power gains with stock motor? I see allot of people giving there first born child for 03/04 mach 1 cams. I guess due to cost and notable power gains. Cams are more in my budget now, have a child on the way so house renovations take first priority. But I do have some cash to play with, right now anyhow. With the mods I have listed which is basically LT,x pipe and slp's, what cams would benefit me the most. Im not looking for bragging rights on the streets, just a fun weekend show cruiser with respectable reliable power.

blownstang4.6

Established Member