• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Changing o2 sensors

Discussion in 'Exhaust' started by ilir_14gt, Feb 22, 2016.

  1. ilir_14gt

    ilir_14gt New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I need to replace one of the front o2 sensors. My car is a 2014 GT. I have a friend that has some sensors but I think they are for a 2013 GT500. My questions is: Will the o2 sensors from the 2013 GT500 work on a 2014 GT?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
  2. helloWorld

    helloWorld Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    854
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    First thing, I do have any actual experience with GT-500s, so I can not give you a firm answer.

    However, I took a look at Tasca and I would have to say no. There seems to be a noticeable cable length difference between the two sensors. For whatever it is worth, the two sensors also have very different part numbers.

    2013 GT-500 Front Right Oxygen Sensor (BR3Z-9F472-A): http://www.tascaparts.com/ford/must...at/?part_name=ft-oxygen-sensor&position=right
    2014 5.0 Front Right Oxygen Sensor (8F9Z-9F472-H): http://www.tascaparts.com/ford/must...at/?part_name=ft-oxygen-sensor&position=right
     
  3. H-TownMachI

    H-TownMachI It's the Hamburglar Established Member

    Messages:
    830
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Lala Land
    They should work. They are both bosch wideband sensors.
     
  4. ilir_14gt

    ilir_14gt New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Location:
    Connecticut
    They are different part numbers but essentially do the same thing. I would think that the Shelby ones can handle more exhaust flow. but at the same time I haven't seen anyone change o2 sensors when they boost their 5.0. I would probably just put them on the car and see if they work before I order GT specific ones online.
     
  5. helloWorld

    helloWorld Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    854
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    I agree with the all of the above. They both have the same connectors and will do the same thing. I was only worried about the cable length.
     
  6. H-TownMachI

    H-TownMachI It's the Hamburglar Established Member

    Messages:
    830
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Lala Land
    The extra cable length comes in handy when you have long tubes.
     
  7. ilir_14gt

    ilir_14gt New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I will have an extension cable ready if needed. I know many people had problems with extensions but I never had a problem with them.
     
  8. scott_0

    scott_0 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Location:
    oxford, pa
    you havent had a problem yet, Id stop using them man, theres a reason people dont use them..........
     
  9. AKDMB

    AKDMB Member Established Member

    Messages:
    314
    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Location:
    NC
    I haven't had problems with my Casper's 02 extensions. They are a high quality OEM connector. I wrapped the loom with weatherproofing tape too. I hope I don't have problems with them in the future.
     
  10. scotmach

    scotmach Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,180
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Until it costs you a motor.
     
  11. ilir_14gt

    ilir_14gt New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Why would an extension cable cost me a motor?
     
  12. helloWorld

    helloWorld Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    854
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    I believe the voltage from the oxygen sensors gets skewed in the extensions before the ECU reads that voltage.

    This means that the air/fuel ratio commanded gets skewed because the engine is making you richer or leaner based off of false readings.

    Depending on how close to the edge you are tuned, or if you are using flex fuel, this can be devastating to your engine.
     
  13. scotmach

    scotmach Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,180
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    Connecticut
    It has before. I would get them off since the stock harness reaches just fine.
     

Share This Page