• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Charge temp sensor on VMP

Discussion in 'Engine/Tuning' started by buexdreux, Sep 10, 2019.

  1. buexdreux

    buexdreux Member Established Member

    Messages:
    223
    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Location:
    Lillington, NC
    I was doing some research on IATs and came across a post that stated the IAT2/charge temp sensor on a Gen 1 & 2 2.3 VMP blower does not actually get into the airstream. They stated that the sensor is mostly surrounded by the port, so when the car is heat soaked it will always read high. Can anyone confirm this and is there an easier fix than to mill the sensor port down?
    Thanks
     
  2. SS EATR

    SS EATR Member Established Member

    Messages:
    894
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Location:
    La Crosse VA
    I never had that issue with mine on my gen 2 blower
     
  3. Bdubbs

    Bdubbs u even lift bro? Established Member

    Messages:
    13,182
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Location:
    MN
    This was a big topic a couple years ago. I have a gen 1 and this never really concerned me. My charge temps have been similar to when I ran a eaton and I run e85. Timing on my tune doesn't start getting pulled until the charge temp is around 170* and I've never seen mine hit 140*.

    Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using the svtperformance.com mobile app
     
  4. buexdreux

    buexdreux Member Established Member

    Messages:
    223
    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Location:
    Lillington, NC
    I've had the charge temp up to 170* for a brief moment and it usually hovers around 130* when heat soaked. I track my car on road courses and run 20-30 minutes at a time, so I want to stay on top of accurate air temps. Thanks for the reply
     
  5. c6zhombre

    c6zhombre E85 NutSwinger Established Member

    Messages:
    5,015
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    League City, TX
    For a road racer....you're going to have to go through the process of milling it down to get more accurate reading. Search for member SOAP, I believe he had good pictures of the before/after depth. I believe he had a machine shop do it. There might have been a trick with lengthening the IAT2 sensor as well....IIRC.
     
    buexdreux likes this.
  6. buexdreux

    buexdreux Member Established Member

    Messages:
    223
    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Location:
    Lillington, NC
    I'm really hoping there is an IAT2 sensor that I can swap out with the one in now...I'm not really down for milling if I don't have to.
     
  7. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    15,115
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    IIRC someone tried to extend the sensor, but it didn't work out for some reason. I think the issue with finding a new sensor is that it doubles as the MAP sensor as well.
     
    buexdreux likes this.
  8. Four Door SVT

    Four Door SVT Premium Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Indiana
    Eaton stock look
    b7cc64a4276366804ec839a2caf1d2de.jpg

    Unmodified VMP

    e7b86153265c4740527f8b8e5c3bf0e8.jpg




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    c6zhombre and Bdubbs like this.
  9. buexdreux

    buexdreux Member Established Member

    Messages:
    223
    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Location:
    Lillington, NC
    You would think that VMP would've identified this issue and corrected it with a longer sensor kit or something of that nature
     
    c6zhombre likes this.
  10. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    15,115
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    I believe its been brought to their attention, but they decided not to mess with it.
     
  11. Soap

    Soap Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,206
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Location:
    In the garage
    buexdreux likes this.
  12. buexdreux

    buexdreux Member Established Member

    Messages:
    223
    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Location:
    Lillington, NC
    Thanks for the reply (especially for the link). Looks like the next time the blower comes off it’ll be getting some milling done...


    Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com
     
    c6zhombre likes this.
  13. c6zhombre

    c6zhombre E85 NutSwinger Established Member

    Messages:
    5,015
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    League City, TX
    Ya that's your best option. I kept thinking an extension for the sensor was worked out....but apparently not. That's a damn shame because having it milled is a real pain in the ass.
     
    buexdreux likes this.
  14. 94slowbra1

    94slowbra1 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,163
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    new orleans
    I had mine milled and noticed a difference in temps. My tune doesnt pull timing till it gets to 170 but I wanted to know what my engine was doing. I think justins answer that its a built in safety measure is a little bogus. so guys not on E just have to deal with timing being pulled? That kind if stuff is built into the tune, not the blower. I have sense sold the blower and am now running a gen 4 2.9 which has much lower iat2s than my tvs had
     
    buexdreux likes this.

Share This Page