Creaking noise when jacking car up?

Bdubbs

u even lift bro?
Established Member
Premium Member
The other day I was jacking up the rear, one side at a time. When I was doing the rear passenger side to put my race ramp flat stoppers under the tire, I could hear a creaking noise. Anyone else get this? I was jacking up the car at the subframe connector.

I don't think this is the first time I've heard this. Normal?

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using the svtperformance.com mobile app

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Kinda tough to diagnose but was it more of a metalic creak or a bushing squeak. Was it a very signifigant change in sound like jumping from a 2 to 8??? Figure that out and you will have an easier time tracking it down. Regardless of which it is I have never jacked a vehicle that stayed completely silent and is most likely normal unless it was a huge, sudden jump in noise.

Bdubbs

u even lift bro?
Established Member
Premium Member
Kinda tough to diagnose but was it more of a metalic creak or a bushing squeak. Was it a very signifigant change in sound like jumping from a 2 to 8??? Figure that out and you will have an easier time tracking it down. Regardless of which it is I have never jacked a vehicle that stayed completely silent and is most likely normal unless it was a huge, sudden jump in noise.
Kinda hard to describe. I thought maybe my wheel wasn't torqued down all the way. But the more I think about it, as long as I can remember it always made some type of noise when jacking it up.

Tifosi2003GT

Established Member
If I remember correctly aren't there some grease fittings in the rear of the cobra?

cj428mach

Established Member
On my car with 10.5 reps on the rear the tires will bind against the subframe bolts. if the LCA are unsupported when jacking if there's weight on the lower control arms the tires dont contact the subframe bolts. So i get creaking noises when i jack up the car.

Last edited:

Revvv

Infinity Poster