E85 and High flow cats

Stage 4.6

Established Member
Was wondering if E85 would damage High-flow cats overtime? I was told by a local gearhead that I shouldn't be running cats on my set up cause it will cause them to clog?

Any truth to that comment?

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
I've been running the same high flow cats since 2015. I switched to E85 last summer and I just had the mid pipe off for a header install and the cats looked fine.

Stage 4.6

Established Member
Flex fuel vehicles can run e85 from the factory and they have cats… I don’t see how there’s any truth to this
Exactly what I said! His respond was newer vehicles are not pushing 6-700hp on e85. he said my cats will eventually over heat swell up and clog?

"01yellercobra" I've had my Kooks set up since Aug 2015/ been on e85 for 2 years. Exhaust was just pulled off for a tranny install, mine looks good as well, I actually thought it was kind of restrictive looking for a high flow cat.

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
Can I ask what’s your setup?

Sent from my iPhone using the svtperformance.com mobile app
Standard inlet Whipple 2.9 at 20psi. It was at 18psi until about 4 months ago. I have flex fuel capability with the MS3 in it now. So like currently it's at E40 in the tank because where the car is there is no E85. The cats currently on the car were on my 01 Cobra with a big bore stroker and F1A making 650+.
Exactly what I said! His respond was newer vehicles are not pushing 6-700hp on e85. he said my cats will eventually over heat swell up and clog?

"01yellercobra" I've had my Kooks set up since Aug 2015/ been on e85 for 2 years. Exhaust was just pulled off for a tranny install, mine looks good as well, I actually thought it was kind of restrictive looking for a high flow cat.