Employment Legality Question

FuryShift

You are slow.
Established Member
Here's the deal, I've looked everywhere and asked a few people but haven't come up with anything. My former employer and I had a falling out so I quit. Every chance they got they ran their mouth's about me when I did nothing but better the place, get treated like crap, and get paid poorly. It was a small business of about six people including the owners and all of the employees. Out of spite they fired my girlfriend who worked at the same place. She is filing unemployment on them which they are trying to squirm out of. I was alwasy weary of the way they ran the business. I never signed an application for employment. I never signed any contracts, or any type of paperwork for that matter. I was on a payroll but taxes were not being cut from my check, and they told me I was an Independant Contractor. I will supposedly have to pay out taxes since they weren't being cut from my check but how can they do this? Is it legal to be on a weekly payroll like an employee, them get out of taxes by calling me a Contractor, and not get paid per job that would be contracted by a Contractor? I gave them my name and address on a sticky note, started working the same day, they paid me on payroll, called me a contractor even though I was not contracting out individual job's and getting paid by them, and did not withhold any tax from my checks.

Top_Fuel

Person of Interest
Established Member
FuryShift said:
...Is it legal to be on a weekly payroll like an employee, then get out of taxes by calling me a Contractor ...they paid me on payroll, called me a contractor... and did not withhold any tax from my checks.
Hmmm...something could definitely be a problem there. Your employer might be trying to dodge some withholding responsibilities.