Finally getting the car tuned.

RSH427R

Established Member
I am going with a local tuner for my GT 500. Power Packages The guy doing the install for me is their ex-mechanic and he recommended their CAI and tune package over their CAI, tune, pulley, and plugs package.

He based his recommendation on his experience working on these cars and said the difference really wasn't worth the extra money. ($400 for about 15 rwhp)

He was going on and on about adding timing, pulling timing, blah blah blah. I am not a mechanic so none of that means a darn thing to me. I just want more power and a safe reliable tune.

My question is this; what do you people think? Is the pulley worth the HP and extra wear on the car? I am picking up the parts tomorrow but I can probably still change my order to the other package.

Thanks

Luckybob2485

Established Member
The gt500 and 03/04 cobras will gain quite a bit of power from just a tune. They run rich from the factory, so with a tune, they will lean out the air/fuel ratio, and add timing as was stated by your mechanic. Personally, i would go all out and do the pulley. Even if it is 15rwhp for $400, i still think it would be worth it. Not to mention the sound of that blower spinning faster. I say go all out, and get the whole package.

Blaine

Established Member
The gt500 and 03/04 cobras will gain quite a bit of power from just a tune. They run rich from the factory, so with a tune, they will lean out the air/fuel ratio, and add timing as was stated by your mechanic. Personally, i would go all out and do the pulley. Even if it is 15rwhp for $400, i still think it would be worth it. Not to mention the sound of that blower spinning faster. I say go all out, and get the whole package.

I'd advise not doing the pulley until you upgrade the Heat Exchanger.

revanracing_ford_gt500_heat_exchanger_03s.jpg