• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

For those that have done a T56 Magnum - I'm getting conflicting info

Discussion in 'Driveline' started by MalcolmV8, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,285
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Another issue is the transmission crossmember no longer fits right. I can't tell if it's because of the new k-member, motor mounts, or T56 Magnum. To many things changed all at once to point fingers but my transmission appears to be 1/4" to far to the rear of the car. Looks like I have to slot the transmission crossmember holes to make it fit.
     
  2. SVT Hess

    SVT Hess THE 3ND Established Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Location:
    Wytheville, VA
    I had to slot my crossmember holes for mine to fit as well, I just used a reamer bit and it worked perfectly. I still have the stock K member and motor mounts. Also had to clearance the clutch fork as I ran into the same issue you did, my trans had clearance already done from D&D for the clutch fork but it wasn't enough.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2015
  3. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,285
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I appreciate the feedback. That helps confirm my k-member and motor mounts are probably as they should be and it is indeed just the T56 Magnum requiring the slotting of the transmission cross member. I just hope my driveshaft still fits as intended. It should as the motor, k-memeber area has not moved in theory. I took lots of detailed measurements and had my driveshaft shortened already :) lol jumped the gun a bit but should still be accurate as long as motor hasn't re-positioned.
     
  4. SVT Hess

    SVT Hess THE 3ND Established Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Location:
    Wytheville, VA
    Sure thing, I know I read everything I could find on this forum when I was debating on going with a Magnum and what all I needed to install it, it's definitely worth the hassle. I'm still running the IRS and my measurements was 47 1/8" from tailshaft seal to pinion flange and mine fits perfect.
     
  5. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,285
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Everything I read says it's amazing compare to the stock T56 so I'm excited. I'll get some measurements on my flange to tail housing seal soon. Still working on the front end but will be back there soon enough.
     
  6. shurur

    shurur Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Yup..the terminator t56 used 27 spline gm output shaft...at least on the 2003 terminator... Even though it isn't listed as such.

    Ford doesn't even sell a 27 spline DS...
     
  7. jrgoffin

    jrgoffin Been around... Established Member

    Messages:
    3,460
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Location:
    The Midwest
    At least someone caught that.

    That's not common knowledge? Right in the third paragraph...

    http://www.terminator-cobra.com/drivetrain.htm#Tremec_T-56
     
  8. shurur

    shurur Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Clearly it is not common knowledge when Ford doesn't seem to know....an many terminator owners are unclear about it as well. Even the Tremic doc on line listed that tranny as 31 spline output.

    Nice site though. ;-)
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2015
  9. SVT Hess

    SVT Hess THE 3ND Established Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Location:
    Wytheville, VA
    It is amazing compared to the stock T56, night and day difference
     
  10. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,285
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Just went to install the dust cover and realized there's no hole on the Magnum to secure it down. Shoot wish I had caught that while the transmission was out so I could have tapped and drilled it. Now I have to think of something else.... hummm

    [​IMG]
     
  11. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,285
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Got lucky and was able to get a drill up in there. Fixed :)

    [​IMG]
     
  12. SVT Hess

    SVT Hess THE 3ND Established Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Location:
    Wytheville, VA
    I've been meaning to get around to doing that as well. What size bit and bolt did you use? My old trans had a screw instead of a bolt in it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015
  13. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,285
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    It actually was a self taping type screw. I drilled the appropriate hole and let the bolt cut the threads into the aluminum with lots of WD40 and slowly working back and forth as to not snap off the screw.
     
  14. Packy

    Packy FBGM Established Member

    Messages:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Surf City, NC
    Which RXT do you order to use with the T-56 Magnum and 2004 Cobra? I am getting conflicting info about having to order the RXT kit that is specific for the Magnum XL. I figured a regular RXT would work since it is not the Magnum XL.?. Am I correct on this or not? Thanks for any help.
     
  15. KilledbyKenne

    KilledbyKenne Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    993
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Location:
    Mountains
    Hey Packy,

    RXT for the 2004 is what you want. IIRC, the Magnum xl is just specific to the s197 cars.
     
  16. Packy

    Packy FBGM Established Member

    Messages:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Surf City, NC
    Awesome thanks! I thought that but someone told me otherwise.
     
  17. matthayn

    matthayn COBRO TO 5.BRO Established Member

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Jackson, TN
    Bumping this for info... so to sum up everything one would need to convert to T56 Mag:
    -this is assuming you already have stock T56 trans setup-

    1. Grind on either clutch fork or trans webbing for clearance
    2. Massage trans tunnel near shifter area for clearance
    3. Modify/ream crossmember holes out toward the rear
    4. 31 spline yoke
    5. Shortened driveshaft (does this apply to SRA cars too?)

    What am I missing?
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2016
  18. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,285
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    On your point #2 it's not near the shifter it's exactly at the shifter. Specifically it's those bolt heads that hold down the shifter base. They press onto the transmission tunnel and would probably have a vibration if left untouched. You hammer upwards with a rod to create clearance dimples. One on each side of the shifter base makes contact. Most rearward bolts if I remember right.

    On your point #3 I had to slot the holes toward the front of the car, not the rear.

    On your point #5 do SRA cars need to shorten too. I don't know, depends. The T56 Magnum is 1 and 1/16" inch longer. You also have to take into account the yolk you swap with. My replacement yolk for example was longer than the stock yolk so I had to take that into account when shortening the driveshaft. There is no exact answer hear, each person should assess their specific yolk and situation I think.

    #6 The metal dust cover that goes over the hole on the side where the clutch fork goes doesn't have a hole for the bolt to secure it. You have to drill a hole in the transmission and then work the bolt in with WD40. It's a self taping style bolt.

    #7 If you still have rear O2 sensors you may need to modify the wiring harness over the transmission. The layout on the transmission is a little different than stock and I was able to make it fit but the rear O2 sensor plugs were pulled up tight and much shorter. I don't have rear O2 sensor but it looks like if you did there'd be an issue.
     
  19. matthayn

    matthayn COBRO TO 5.BRO Established Member

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Jackson, TN
    Exactly what I was looking for ^^^ thanks Malcolm!
     
  20. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,285
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    :beer:
     

Share This Page