FYI: Brakes work!

SVTyballz

Established Member
120 out of a bend...............see 2 police cars, took it down to 60 as fast as the Cobra would let me (thank you ABS). I think I would have been busted if I had been racing someone, but when i passed them, I got a nod and a smile from the one facing me. Whew! Close call. Time to order the Valentine One. Be careful out there.

gary

If anyone has ever been to Daytona International Speedway, it is the road from near turn 4 , around the backstretch to turn 2, next to the airport. good test track. heheheh

toofast4u

Versatilist
Established Member
The cops down here are starting to use laser units and instant on radar which means that radar detectors even with laser capability are greatly less effective. BTW, I was pulled over within 24-hours of buying my car for doing 53 in a 45 of all things.

Snakebitten

5150 SVT Poster
Established Member
I'm a cop in So.Cal, our minimum on surface streets for citing is 13 M.P.H. over, the usual is 15 over. On a medium hill, with a speed limit of 35, I won't cite until 20 over. I have instant on Ka band. Detectors are useless if you are in front of the pack or solo. :eek:

anteros511

Established Member
I got pulled over doing 85 in a 55 the other day in Quakertown, PA, one week after getting my Cobra. The cop was so cool, I told him I just got the car and he gave me a fine for driving in the left lane (used for passing) instead of 30+ speeding which was more $$$ and 5 points carried over onto my NY license. :coolman:

toofast4u

Versatilist
Established Member
The cop that gave me the ticket for 8 over actually told me if I was you I would fight it. And they say cops don't have quotas.

VintagePorscheG

Old School SVT Poster
Established Member
was on my way to Florida in June with the kids the inlaws (7 of us total) in my wifes Pontiac Montana Minivan.

We were pulling a small uhaul trailer with our luggage in it.