Gen 5 Whipple 3.0 owners. What size throttle body did you go with?

4sdvenom

Never Enough!
Established Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2003
Messages
2,334
Location
Ft. Wayne, IN
I just received my Gen5 Whipple yesterday and when I ordered from Lethal it was listed as the 150 mm TB and the one I received per my check off list is the 132 mm.
Trying to figure out if it’s worth exchanging or not. I’m looking for 900+ rwhp and my build is a 10.5:1 Aluminator with ported heads and cams and pretty much upgraded everything. I’m using the MS3 Pro for engine management on E85 and everything is backed up with a Lentech 4r70w and a solid axle rear end.

If it makes a difference my Cobra is still a street car and will see a lot of street use as well as quite a bit of 1/4 mile track time. It is still full weight with power everything and AC.
Are there any drivability issues with the 150 mm verses the 132 mm? What power level does the 150 mm start being needed instead of the 132 mm?

Thanks
Ken
 

CustomX

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
132
Location
Green Cove Springs FL
Mine came with a 132mm as well, I've been having issues with my throttle hanging and opened a support ticket with Whipple this morning. Waiting to hear back. I'm not sure if it's worth upgrading to the 150mm but Lethal told me the 132mm is more reliable than the 150mm. Not sure how much power my car is making but it's a stock longblock car with a 3.5 upper/4lb lower and I've trapped 147 mph in the 1/4. Car weighs around 3650 with me in it.
 

ITSTOCK

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
1,722
Location
West Virginia
Are you making sure to adjust the screw on the throttle body? The old rule of thumb has always been that you should be able to slide a credit card under the blade. The other is the IAC adjustment, as it's very sensitive (and I also found that under boost, even with the clip on, the harness is blowing off the valve, ziptied in place now and all good). I don't know how much adjustment the stock ECU, but with the MS3, all is good. My 150 doesn't seem to have any hanging issues at all.
 

ITSTOCK

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
1,722
Location
West Virginia
All as if it's OE, and I have cams and a high stall, it would show quickly. I would 100% exchange it for the 150. I just put down 924rwhp on an aborted run due to running out of fuel pump, through a TH400/unlocked converter and a 9" rear.
 
Last edited:

4sdvenom

Never Enough!
Established Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2003
Messages
2,334
Location
Ft. Wayne, IN
All as if it's OE, and I have cams and a high stall, it would show quickly. I would 100% exchange it for the 150. I just put down 924rwhp on an aborted run due to running out of fuel pump, through a TH400 and a 9" rear.
Yep, gonna shoot Lethal an email and see what needs to happen. Yours is the second vote from owners with the 150 that’s said zero issues with it and I haven’t heard of anyone with issues.
Thank you!
Ken
 

CustomX

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
132
Location
Green Cove Springs FL
Yep, gonna shoot Lethal an email and see what needs to happen. Yours is the second vote from owners with the 150 that’s said zero issues with it and I haven’t heard of anyone with issues.
Thank you!
Ken

Let me know what they tell you. They told me to contact Whipple regarding mine.
 

stangfreak

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
8,114
Location
new york
I might be pullin the trigger on the 3.0. I also wasnt sure what size throttle body to get. 150 then??
 

2003DSGMACH1

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
735
Location
Orlando
Stangfreak I would make sure to ask to ask about the 150mm throttle body. Lethal has changed on there website that It comes with the 132mm now. I ordered one on Black Friday and got the 132mm and didn’t even notice till this thread started but lethal said they are going to get it traded out for me.
 

4sdvenom

Never Enough!
Established Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2003
Messages
2,334
Location
Ft. Wayne, IN
I got my 150 to replace the 132 yesterday! I would have had it Saturday but wasn’t home to sign for it and had them hold it at the closest FedEx hub so I could pick it up when I had time. I have to say Nick Shadoin from Lethals customer service is a top notch guy and is on the ball with everything! He has always replied to my emails in record time and when I brought up the issue with the wrong throttle body he immediately contacted Whipple to see what happened. He told me Lethals wording in their product description was incorrect and apologized. He said he’ll get something worked out and let me know and later that same day before I even had a chance to check my email I received a FedEx shipping notification. Throttle body was on its way. I guess my point of all that was to give a huge hats off to Nick for pretty much the best customer service I have ever had! :)

Ken
 

stangfreak

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
8,114
Location
new york
I hope it drives someone decent. I also noticed on lethals site you can get the race port.
 

4sdvenom

Never Enough!
Established Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2003
Messages
2,334
Location
Ft. Wayne, IN
I hope it drives someone decent. I also noticed on lethals site you can get the race port.
Everyone I talked to that had the 150 said they had zero idle or drivability issues. Didn’t find anyone that had issues with it.
I seen they had the race port available but couldn’t find anyone on a search that had it or back to back comparisons for gains. At $1500 price I figured I shouldn’t have any issues hitting 850-900+ At the wheels with my set up and the un ported Whipple. I honestly think those numbers are conservative for 10.5 compression on E85, ported heads and custom spec’d cams with the MS3 Pro engine management. :)
You decide to make the switch yet? ;)
 

stangfreak

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
8,114
Location
new york
so here's the thing. My tuner does love whipple blowers. But, he is a turbo guy. so basically he told me, for years, especially us OG cobra owners, all we are doing is buying, selling, buying, selling to the next best thing, and we are still stuck within the same hp range. we spend all this money, and work to gain just a marginal amount. Now I don't if the gen 5 3.0 will propel this car to the next level Iv had a lot of blowers on my car the past 18 years and what he told is corrct. I am not sure what to expect or if its worth swapping again. No clue if it will make this car into a different beast. In other words, if I am not happy with the blower power, just go turbo. But thats also a big investment.

On the other hand, I can keep the car as is, buy a used coyote, and make way more power easier, have an auto, and be crazy fast. These coyotes are trapping crazy times with a blower only set on kill. People may bash me on this but, if I had no emissions here in NY, I would coyote swap my cobra in a heart beat.
 

jwcobra03

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
534
Location
Chalmette, LA
Sell the car and get a coyote. Good market to sell it. You've been debating selling the car forever it seems. Try something new to get your interest back. If you're looking for more than another 100rwhp out of the Gen5 on a stock long block, i think your tuner is 100% spot on. $6k for another 80-125rwhp seems like a waste over what you have now. My $.02. Good luck.
 

Users who are viewing this thread



Top