Help me with my rear window lock issue!!!

SkippyMcGee

Established Member
so the plastic release portion of the rear slider window in my truck cracked (conveniently where the pin that holds the latch to the portion that's attached to the window slides in). as a result, i can no longer lock my rear window.

i purchased a replacement latch and mount from ford, but my glass guy told me that there is no way to remove the mount and attach the new one... that i would essentially need an entire new rear window. seeing as how he has nothing to gain from my replacing an entire rear window (id buy the parts from ford and he doesn't charge me for work), i tend to believe what he tells me. that being said, i find it very hard to believe that nobody else has had to deal with this same problem...

has anyone else had to deal with this issue? what did you do?! where can i get this taken care of in northern NJ?

thanks in advance guys :beer:

BT2001SVT

I'm an Agent of CHAOS!!
Established Member
My first Lightning had that exact same problem. i bought it used and as I was rolling off the lot I discovered that back latch was broken. i turned the truck around to have the dealership address the issue and they made me bring it back the next day to fix the window. long story short, the service guy told me the same thing, had to replace the entired back window, there was no way to just remove the broken latch and replace with a new one without damaging the window itself.

BT

qurtrn10

Established Member
Why then would Ford sell pieces that you can't use as pieces? That makes no sense.

qurtrn10

Established Member
I googled, and found that one guy removed his latch by heating the back side of the glass, and softening the glue until he could gently twist off the old latch. He doesn't say what to use to attach the new one. Looks like it could be a little bit of a pain, but definitely possible.

SkippyMcGee

Established Member