How much stress on the car....?

jvert

Established Member
I am just getting into open track racing. I wanted to know how much stress is on the car and how bad is open track racing for the car? Few of my friends say its harder on the car doing open track racing than drag racing or autocrossing. I just wanted to hear all of your opinions on it.

Thanks?

brkntrxn

Inappropriate Motorsports
Established Member
There are a lot of discussions on this topic, so pick some key words and do some reading.

In short, it depends on how hard you drive the car. I used to drag race a lot, now I road course a lot. Here is a summary (off the top of my head):

Drag racing:
- 2x broken halfshafts
- broken input shaft on tranny
- overspun supercharger and broken bearings
- shorted out fan
- 1 blown motor
- bent shift fork in tranny
- bad wheel bearing
- lots of drag radials

Road Course:
- 1 blown motor
- Melted differential bushings
- replaced diff halfshaft seal
- Torn brake ducts
- 3 burnt fuel pumps
- replaced fuel tank setup
- replaced radiator
- lots of track tires
- lots of rotors
- lots of track pads

Of course, I don't pussy-foot around when I am out there either.

racebronco2

Established Member
Let's not forget the time spent on track during the day:
Drag racing, 4-8 runs = less then 2 minutes
Open track 4 sessions = 80 minutes

Gas costs;
Drag racing 1/4 tank at the most $20.00
Open tracking 1 1/2 tanks $70.00

Jimmysidecarr

Semi user friendly
Established Member
If you don't count brakes I think drag racing is a lot harder on the car than open track.

The breakage and wear drag racing keeps me from going back to it.

How many Whipple cobras do you know about that are still on the original clutch?

When I switched to DOT slicks I made sure I had a road race oil pan.
High Gs + high RPMs+ high banking= starved oil pickup.

I ran 7 qts when I ran the stock pan.
I still watch the water temp like a hawk!