How to go about getting started in OT racing?

mastwolf

4800fps = Mach1 in h2o
Established Member
How does someone get started?

I live in San Diego, and I have talked to quit a few of people out here. Im new to open track racing, but not racing itself. I raced go karts when i was younger (i know i know totally different, but lines and such are the same). How/when/where do I go out and do this for the first time?

I make ~500hp
275/45/17 Nitto 555s up front
315's out back
D-specs with Ford racing "C" springs
Upper Control Arms
Steeda Front Sway bar.
PowerSlot Rotors with Hawk HPS Pads and SS line.

What else would you suggest I do to better prepare my car for the track?

Thanks,
Chris

MFE

Established Member

I live in San Diego, and I have talked to quit a few of people out here. Im new to open track racing, but not racing itself. I raced go karts when i was younger (i know i know totally different, but lines and such are the same). How/when/where do I go out and do this for the first time?

I make ~500hp
315's out back
Upper Control Arms
Steeda Front Sway bar.

Thanks,
Chris

"open track" =/= "racing". So, do you want to go to high-performance driving events on road courses, or do you want to get your race license and go wheel-to-wheel?

ac427cobra

FULLTILTBOOGIERACING.COM
Super Moderator

I make ~500hp
315's out back
Upper Control Arms
Steeda Front Sway bar.

Thanks,
Chris

Drive the car with as few mods and as stock as possible on street tires for your first few times.

Google driving schools and open track events in your area. Hook up with Carlos (Racebronco), I'm sure he can give you some good advice for local So. Cal events.

Get front brake cooling on the car and a good helmet for starters. Go from there.

FWIW

:thumbsup::coolman::beer:

gcassidy

One more lap!
Established Member