• Welcome to SVTPerformance!
ATTENTION!
You may experience intermittent issues while accessing the site over the next 60-90 minutes, as we perform maintenance and upgrades.

how to- on installing AEM A/F guage

Discussion in '2nd Generation' started by LightningMAS, Nov 28, 2006.

  1. LightningMAS

    LightningMAS Banned

    Messages:
    3,224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    i need instructions on how installing an AEM A/F guage...
    Thanks
    michael
     
  2. 99SVT3753

    99SVT3753 5.4L Snake Established Member

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha
    Need to know the exact gauge model number #1 .. and if it's on your Lighting or not #2 ..

    Most gauges will hook to say the GREY wire on one of the front O2 sensors but is dependant upon the year.
     
  3. Derek@Amazon

    [email protected] RTCTTFMF!!! Established Member

    Messages:
    12,928
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Location:
    Hazzard County Maryland

    thats for a narrow band... IE hunk of crap...
     
  4. Derek@Amazon

    [email protected] RTCTTFMF!!! Established Member

    Messages:
    12,928
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Location:
    Hazzard County Maryland
    i was gunna look on the AEM webpage but the site is down...

    sorry man
     
  5. boostdacr

    boostdacr Removed by Admin. Established Member

    Messages:
    2,878
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia
    i have a how to from when i put my aem wideband on my srt4...if thats any help ill post it up. i posted the samething in your thread over on nloc also
     
  6. mickey03L

    mickey03L Just the normal bolt ons Established Member

    Messages:
    730
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    Booneville, MS
    it was a pretty simple install. i installed the o2 sensor bout 3 in away from upstream o2 at same angle. installed the module on the framerail and ran my wires into the cab. used the same power source for the guage as my other gauges and grounded it in same place on kick panel. used the switched hot that stayed on while cranking just as with my electric boost gauage.
     
  7. Chrolle

    Chrolle New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    St. Petersburg
    The porevious owner of my truck had a wire coming from the black wire on the O2 sensor on drivers side by the transmission, then had it ran up the firewall into the truck and laying under the dash, Guess he pulled the pod and stuff out when he sold it.

    I threw a pod in and for giggle put in a A/F Gauge and im not sure that is even something right cause it just sits with 1 light on that slowey goes to rich after driving it for an hour, all it does it move 1 light bar every 2 or 3 mins. lol

    I s=did a search to see if that was correct and it says same thing. Now if your talking wideband thats a whole different game. I had mine installed for me yesterday.
     
  8. boostdacr

    boostdacr Removed by Admin. Established Member

    Messages:
    2,878
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia
  9. LightningMAS

    LightningMAS Banned

    Messages:
    3,224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    thank you sir, but i really need one from a Lightning..

    its the wideband im installing.. whole thing.. i dont know how to ground wires.. im not really good with wires...lol
     
  10. boostdacr

    boostdacr Removed by Admin. Established Member

    Messages:
    2,878
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia
    all the wiring would be pretty much the same
     
  11. BC Lightning

    BC Lightning Project Panty Dropper Established Member

    Messages:
    926
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    D/FW
    aem wideband was really easy to install

    I removed my rear O2 sensors and put the wideband sensor on the rear driver side and blocked off the passenger side, ran the wires through the floor and up to the a-pillar connected the pos and neg wires and your done, turn the truck on turned off the rear 02's and your done :thumbsup:
     
  12. LightningMAS

    LightningMAS Banned

    Messages:
    3,224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    why would i have to turn rear 02's off??

    BC can u take a pic of ur wiring setup for me. please?
     
  13. 99SVT3753

    99SVT3753 5.4L Snake Established Member

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha
    Ah .. sorry .. was at work (watching over my shoulder) LOL

    didn't realize it was a Wideband. .. ya .. need a "bung" and have it welded into place as stated above
     
  14. LightningMAS

    LightningMAS Banned

    Messages:
    3,224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    i already have the bung made... i just need wiring pics.. just the black to the ground and red to the 15a amp.. thats it.. i know someone have pics of the wiring setup.. come on, dont be shy to take a pic and show me.. :)

    I cant wire worth of shit.. last time i wired something, i electricuted myself...lol
     

Share This Page