• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Intermittent issues after VMP Stage 1 install - limp mode and P219A code

Discussion in 'Power-Adders' started by cheeser, Jun 18, 2019.

  1. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    Finished install last week without issue. Drove to work and such for three days without issue...about 75 miles. Beyond Supercharger, engine is stock except GT500 mufflers.

    Drove car about 175 miles to Steamboat Spring and when coming over a 9400ish foot pass, wrench icon popped up and went into limp mode. No check engine light came up. Coasted to bottom of pass near Steamboat, turned car off and back on, and issued resolved. Drove fine over the weekend and the autocross events.

    Returned to Denver area on Sunday after 175 mile drive...no issue over passes.

    Drove car to work today and a checK engine light popped up. Used a DashCommand phone app to connect to the obd2 dongle and pulled a P219A (Bank 1 Air / Fuel Ratio Imbalance) code. In using the app, noticed a number of “Readiness Monitors” such as fuel system monitoring, catalyst monitoring, evaporative, etc. are not green. I went ahead and cleared code, but remains as a “Permanent Code.” Looks like I need to do some sort of drive cycle to eliminate the perm code.

    Seems odd I had zero problems at initial startup and first 250ish miles, but now running into intermittent issues. Curious if others encountered similar issues...tuning gremlins?

    I assume my first step is the data logging per the VMP instructions on their FAQ page, and send to VMP?
     
  2. Stangra

    Stangra Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Location:
    CA
    It's possible that those monitors are turned of by the tune you've got, you may want to check with your tuner.

    Datalogging is a good idea too, probably will end up with driveability/performance improvements
     
  3. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    It’s a stock VMP tune...hope they haven’t disabled the monitors...I assume they’re needed for emissions testing in Colorado.
     
  4. Stangra

    Stangra Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Location:
    CA
    I hope you're right too, but if your device is showing sensors not ready/off it makes me wonder. A large part of my decision to go with the Roush blower was the CARB E.O. number and emissions compliant 'stock' tune. With my SCT I can switch between a Lund tune I have or the Roush tune.

    My guess if they're off, VMP should be able to turn them on?
     
  5. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    Making an assumption here, but believe the monitors are not ready yet as I cleared the P219A code and the car has to go through the correct drive cycles to ready all of the monitors.

    Ford Motor Company Driving Cycle

    In the meantime, still curious as to what started this chain of events with the limp mode and then the P219A code?
     
  6. basspro302

    basspro302 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wrench light is typically a problem with the throttle body. The p219a code on fords when i see them is typically the upstream 02 sensors (afr sensors) are faulty. If the pcm trips that code it will not pass some monitors where the 02 is needed to pass.
     
  7. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    Sent my datalogs to VMP...they reviewed the logs and didn’t see any issues such as fuel. Supposed to send me an updated tune to address the readiness monitors, but curious as to what changes they would make to address that particular issue?

    They didn’t seem to have a response for the P219A code, so think I will work on the readiness monitors first, and then push on the P219A issue...has occurred twice over the last 450ish miles.

    From what I have read in others posts, the P219A code is somewhat common, and Ford has a few TSBs on this such as 14-0120 for a reflash of the PCM. Since this issue popped up after the supercharger install, will have to assume it’s related. Is there a way to provide a bit more leeway when comparing the cylinders/banks against one another, or are some tuners simply suppressing the code in some manner?
     
  8. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    VMP re-reviewed my datalogs and provided me a tune that would address the readiness monitor issues, in addition to turning off the P219A reporting ability. They verified there wasn't anything wrong, in addition to this only popping up once every few hundred miles. I didn't ask if they had the ability to widen the acceptable variance instead of just turning off the reporting function for this one code.

    I downloaded the updated tune to my SCT X4 device last night, but when I tried uploading it to the car, a 110D8 downloading error would pop. I couldn't return car to the stock tune, nor upload the new tune. After looking on different forums, some suggested tuner needed an update, while others mentioned the tuner saw low voltage and self destructed. I decided to update my SCT X4 device (took 3.5 hours), and unhook the battery.

    I hooked up a battery charger and tried again....finally worked. Had to reload stock tune first, and then upload the new revised tune.

    Drove it a bit last night and then to work today...all of the readiness monitors finally went green. Great since I can now pass emissions.

    Car idles and runs fine. I'm a bit down on power (560 RWHP) as VMP didn't get too aggressive as we only have 91 octane. Keeping my finger crossed no other gremlins pop up, but happy so far.
     
  9. Stangra

    Stangra Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Location:
    CA
    Great to hear that you seem have the bugs worked out. Let the good times roll!
    Just curious about how you determined the 560 RWHP number?
     
  10. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    Looks like I was premature...readiness monitors went all green which is great, but I am seeing more P219A codes...had two CELs today. Back to the VMP tuner again.

    I took it to a local dyno shop a few weeks ago where they made two pulls. He thought that was a fair number considering the initial tune and dual 60mm TB. He did recommend a larger TB and he could go slightly more aggressive on tune...seems to have a good reputation with the Mustang crowd heron the Denver area.

    Tempted to just go to him and tune with the dyno and see if he can correct this P219A issue, but would like VMP to try to resolve first.
     
  11. SHIFTYBUSINESS

    SHIFTYBUSINESS Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    571
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    My 13 with a vmp and o/r xpipe will randomly give me the p219a code. Doesn't run bad or anything i just clear it and continue on.

    Sent from my SM-G935V using the svtperformance.com mobile app
     
  12. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    VMP asked me to reload the v2 tune they had sent me...thought it may not loaded correctly. I did have a problem loading it the first time...had a download error message where I updated tuner and pulled battery cable for 30ish minutes.

    I’m still seeing an intermittent pending p219a code. VMPs update is supposed to disable a CEL from a p219a...just watching to verify if a p219a turns into a permanent / stored code. Hoping it doesn’t go permanent.

    I haven’t seen anything online that documents the variance that actually trips this code...thought I saw a 15% or greater variance between cylinders.

    At this time, I don’t know the root cause of this issue. Is it a vacuum leak, injector issue, O2 sensor, etc (per Fords troubleshooting data), or is it the tune itself? I don’t see any other codes or issues (idle, datalog) that would indicate an issue related to the engine/parts itself.

    I noticed Ford had a TSB for this code which required a reflash, so this seems somewhat indicative of the tune for now. If it was a constant issue, it would probably be easier to resolve. Over the last few days, could drive 20 miles with zero pending codes, and then another 20 miles where a pending code would show.

    Wish I could flash a conservative Rousch tune to compare. For now, just monitoring the situation. I’m a bit concerned in taking it out on an extended 20 minute road course session due to the added stress.
     
  13. OX1

    OX1 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    107
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Location:
    New Jersey
    My first VMP tune was giving me low EGT on cold startup (I assume it infers EGT through cats somehow). I had them redo tune for a couple other things last winter and the latest has been fine since. I checked recently and all monitors are ready, going for first emission insp. next month. I have Roush Stg 3, but with Roush closed air cleaner, no other engine related mods.
     
  14. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    Received a new tune last week...the emission ready monitors have been fixed, so that's resolved.

    Now just driving it to see if the P219A issue has been resolved...or at least so the CEL doesn't pop up when it sees a P219A.
     
  15. crjackson2134

    crjackson2134 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    82
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Several months have passed since your last update. Can we assume that the final reported tune sent by VMP resolved all the issues?
     
  16. Wals0248

    Wals0248 New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    I did the same install on my 13 GT, I'll periodically get this code, mostly gone away at this point. Maybe make sure the intake is snug?
     
  17. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    Unfortunately, the P219A issue still pops up every now and then, although the CEL doesn’t pop up. Odd as it could go 50 - 100 miles without a code, then it will just pop up the next day. It seems to run fine though.

    VMP advised me to replace the 02 sensor on the passenger side header. I purchased a new one, but was unable to get enough slack and get my hand in there in order to disconnect the electrical connector...I may have missed one of those plastic retainer clips. Tried for an hour twisting and turning with no luck.

    it’s aggravating, but at least all of the emission related test work now. The car is in storage, but will try again late spring. I purchased a few tools to unclip those retainers, and one of those remote endoscopy type cameras I can connect to my phone and snake it to the connector to give me a better view.

    Was thinking of using an unlit propane bottle to pass around the intake to see if the revs change that would indicate a leak.

    I am also thinking about having a local Mustang tuner w/dyno doing a tune...they have a good reputation in the area and deal with the Denver altitude.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2020
  18. cheeser

    cheeser Member Established Member

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    Update: I didn't replace the O2 sensor as suggested by VMP, but went ahead and had a local tuner with dyno tune the car. After 500+ miles of driving, I no longer see the P219A code after a tune by a local shop. As a result, this suggests the VMP tune was allowing a P219A code to be generated at times, while the revised tune by a third party has eliminated this issue...and it wasn't an O2 sensor issue.

    I followed up with VMP on this, but they seem to suggest that it wasn't their tune that was causing the problem. Their response was "...tune is complimentary and not something I paid for....there is nothing more we could do on our end."

    In the end, I am happy with the VMP hardware. I am less than happy with their response in this matter though in trying to resolve the code issue.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2020
  19. crjackson2134

    crjackson2134 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    82
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Thanks for the update, I’m glad this issue has been put to rest.
     
  20. Riddick

    Riddick MERICA Established Member

    Messages:
    2,433
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Location:
    Haughton, LA
    Tune is complimentary, what a bunch of BS. I can't believe they responded with that.

    Sad thing is half the people buy these kits with no intention of paying for a different tune. Its part of their package deal and should be made right. Complimentary, what a joke VMP!

    @VMP Performance , You guys should add a disclaimer to your kit stating "Free crap tune included, it might work but if it doesn't no big deal it's complimentary."

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2020
    cheeser and crjackson2134 like this.

Share This Page