Issues after new setup

IllCobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
792
Location
Florida
Well, things aren't going too great after finishing the 2.3 VMP install on my cobra.

After my tuner sent me the initial base tune, the following now happens: it starts up normal, but after a second or two, rpms drop to 500 and it sounds like it has a nasty cam. This goes on for about 12-15 second and then it dies. Looked around for any lines I may have forgot to plug and found nothing. Sprayed around the engine for any leaks and got no change in rpm. Unplugged my sct2600 maf and plugged the stock one back on - my brother held it to the intake since i am running the jlt's high boost and the stocker doesnt bolt up the the maf slot - and lo and behold, it idles fine. I let my tuner know that he may have forgot to adjust for the aftermarket maf to which he replies that he did and sends me a new tune.

With the new tune, the car starts normal like before and then rpms drop again to ~500 and the cam sound returns. About 5 seconds pass and the rpms climb up to 1000 and the chop goes away. Besides the idle being a little high at 1k, it sounds fine and well. However, once it starts to near operating temp, the rpms again drop to ~500 and it is struggling to stay on. The funny part is, when I put the stock maf back on with painters tape to hold it, it drives and idles fine ( i had to drive it to my house from my brother's - about 3.5 miles).

My tuner said it could be a vacuum leak or some other problem. My guess is maybe something is wrong with my sct2600 maf sensor. Is there a way to test this? Some things I noticed is when idling, my AEM a/f gauge is reading full lean, no number just "----" on the display, but the car smells like it's running rich. There's also some white smoke coming from the exhaust, though that could be condensation from all the rain we've been getting. Another small thing I noticed while trying to look for the issue is that my BAP level is NOT set to max, it only at the half way mark. Not sure if this will cause an issue.

If anyone has any suggestions, please post them up. I really want get this thing running before hurricane season gets into full swing.

CaGMfTaXXsZ1iEiLL3YsrUfe-GRrd2M-Hwx1QxvmRDAhEwU518854TgGFX7q2QipOghzqWkxnkL5YFy8HBI=w876-h657-no.jpg
 

IllCobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
792
Location
Florida
Dang, sorry for the multiple threads moderators . It wasn't doing anything when i was selecting "create thread". Please remove the other two
 
Last edited:

NateDogg

Terminator
Established Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
2,323
Location
Wesley Chapel, FL
I would want to assume that the MAF is faulty if you've had success with the stocker maintaining solid idle.

Do you have a local guy that can swap a known good 2600 in to eliminate it all together?



Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
 

decipha

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
870
Location
New Orleans, LA
what you describe is perfectly normal. Get the log for the tuner so they can dial in the maf. Once they dial it in it will be fine.
 

IllCobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
792
Location
Florida
I would want to assume that the MAF is faulty if you've had success with the stocker maintaining solid idle.

Do you have a local guy that can swap a known good 2600 in to eliminate it all together?



Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
Yeah, I was thinking of asking if anyone around could meet up and test out their sct2600 maf
 
Last edited:

IllCobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
792
Location
Florida
what you describe is perfectly normal. Get the log for the tuner so they can dial in the maf. Once they dial it in it will be fine.
I tried logging an idle,1500,2000,2500,3000,3500, and idle but I only got it to 2500 before the rpms dropped and i couldnt get them back up. This is what i was able to log. I sent him the log, that's when he told me i could have a vacuum leak or another problem
 

Attachments

  • 1st datalog.csv
    181 KB · Views: 35

fivelitrecobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2013
Messages
502
Location
PA
Going thru the exact same thing switching from a stock maf+Mafia to a BA3000. My car has exactly the same symptoms as yours. Double an triple checked all the vac lines, sprayed starting fluid all around and no change in rpms either. I had access to a 2600, swapped it in with a new tune and it's definitely much better then it was with the 3000. I have another revision to try today, hopefully its even better. Working with a tuner and he seems to think getting the new maf dialed in is the issue.
 

BlckBox04

I am the liquor
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
7,119
Location
NJ
wasn't there another thread a few weeks ago about this exact issue?
 

IllCobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
792
Location
Florida
Going thru the exact same thing switching from a stock maf+Mafia to a BA3000. My car has exactly the same symptoms as yours. Double an triple checked all the vac lines, sprayed starting fluid all around and no change in rpms either. I had access to a 2600, swapped it in with a new tune and it's definitely much better then it was with the 3000. I have another revision to try today, hopefully its even better. Working with a tuner and he seems to think getting the new maf dialed in is the issue.
Hopefully I can find someone that will let me borrow their sct and assure it is the maf.
What are your mods? Is there a reason you went with the 3000 over the 2600? Who is your tuner?
 

decipha

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
870
Location
New Orleans, LA
your tuner prob assumed there was a vac leak becuase of the amount of fuel correction needed let them know you verified all is well and yall can cobtinue on no problem

the issue is most likely your jlt inlet might require the maf to be kicked up significantly its not uncommon

running lean will burn your eyes and make it hard to breathe
 

IllCobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
792
Location
Florida
your tuner prob assumed there was a vac leak becuase of the amount of fuel correction needed let them know you verified all is well and yall can cobtinue on no problem

the issue is most likely your jlt inlet might require the maf to be kicked up significantly its not uncommon

running lean will burn your eyes and make it hard to breathe
I will let him know, but the first tune he sent - before we knew I was going to have issues - the car ran worse.

Can anyone confirm this the proper way to do a smoke test? I want to try this out before I can positively say there are no vac leaks.
 

fivelitrecobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2013
Messages
502
Location
PA
Hopefully I can find someone that will let me borrow their sct and assure it is the maf.
What are your mods? Is there a reason you went with the 3000 over the 2600? Who is your tuner?

Whipple 2.3 g2 with supporting mods.....exhaust, highboost intake, sbtb, etc. Twin Ford GT pumps, 60lb inj, modded FPDM. Went with a 3000 in case I ever decided to go to a bigger blower and return system in the future. Malcolm is helping me to get things dialed in. He said the 3000's can be a pita sometimes, so that's why I went with the 2600. Never had any issues in the past with the 2600's.
 

IllCobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
792
Location
Florida
Whipple 2.3 g2 with supporting mods.....exhaust, highboost intake, sbtb, etc. Twin Ford GT pumps, 60lb inj, modded FPDM. Went with a 3000 in case I ever decided to go to a bigger blower and return system in the future. Malcolm is helping me to get things dialed in. He said the 3000's can be a pita sometimes, so that's why I went with the 2600. Never had any issues in the past with the 2600's.
Who was your original tuner? I read your post and it does seem that we are having the same problem. I am going to see I can do after some more research. Out of curiosity, where did you buy your sct3000 from?
 

Users who are viewing this thread



Top