Killer Chiller Replacement Orifice

94 Cobra R

Same Ol Same Ol
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,107
Location
Gainesville, FL
Hey y’all! After running a Killer Chiller with no problems over the past couple of years, all of a sudden, my low pressure side is running high causing my compressor to cycle on and off. I’m hoping blocked orifice before I start looking at a bad compressor or leak somewhere. I need to get a proper set of gauges so I can check both low and high pressure sides, so I’ll probably do that this coming weekend. I’ve had my HE disconnected from the KC setup because I didn’t want the HE actually heating up the cooler AIT, but this situation has made me realize I should have the HE hooked up to keep from relying on the A/C system if it fails. When the compressor kicks on, cold air comes on and the AIT goes down....but when the compressor cycles off...not good. And it def happens more on highway driving (cycling on and off every couple of seconds) versus stop and go.
 

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
1,325
Location
North East OH
I’ve had my HE disconnected from the KC setup because I didn’t want the HE actually heating up the cooler AIT, but this situation has made me realize I should have the HE hooked up to keep from relying on the A/C system if it fails.

I would honestly keep the HE offline if you plan on sticking with the KC and keep the HE installed as a backup. If you start having AC issues just stay out of boost and limp home until you fix the problem, if its a big AC problem you could always just put the HE inline and take the KC offline.
 

94 Cobra R

Same Ol Same Ol
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,107
Location
Gainesville, FL
Got a fluctuating low pressure (cycling compressor) and a low high pressure, so I'm thinking low on freon. Going to evacuate the system, vacuum it, then put freon in and keep my fingers crossed.
 

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
1,325
Location
North East OH
If you havent done it already go rent a set of AC gauges from Autozone and check your pressure, will tell you right away if you are low or not. You doing your own AC work???
 

94 Cobra R

Same Ol Same Ol
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,107
Location
Gainesville, FL
If you havent done it already go rent a set of AC gauges from Autozone and check your pressure, will tell you right away if you are low or not. You doing your own AC work???

Those were my readings with my gauges. My low pressure was fluctuating between 30 and 60 (compressor would shut off at 60, pressure would drop to 30 than compressor would kick on) and the high pressure was low, around 100. That usually points to low freon. Back when I installed the KC the first time (couple of years ago) I don't remember purging the air out in-between vacuum and freon, so I may have actually dirtied my own system back then.
 

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
1,325
Location
North East OH
If I am reading correctly you did it the right way, you pull vacuum then fill with refrigerant and there is no purging involved. Before you try to refill get a UV light and start hitting all your AC fittings, you could have a bad oring somewhere.
 

94 Cobra R

Same Ol Same Ol
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,107
Location
Gainesville, FL
When you unhook your vacuum motor and hook the freon up, you introduce air into the hose. So before opening the yellow line at the gauges, there's a purge Schrader. Open the can of freon up (or jug) then purge until freon comes out, then open the gauge side up and start feeding the system. For whatever reason, I remember NOT doing that and thinking, oh, it'll be ok.
 

*Jay*

Tweeker by trade
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
1,325
Location
North East OH
When you unhook your vacuum motor and hook the freon up, you introduce air into the hose. So before opening the yellow line at the gauges, there's a purge Schrader. Open the can of freon up (or jug) then purge until freon comes out, then open the gauge side up and start feeding the system. For whatever reason, I remember NOT doing that and thinking, oh, it'll be ok.
You are correct, I misread and thought you meant purging the vacuum. Still would get a UV light to check for leaks.
 

94 Cobra R

Same Ol Same Ol
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,107
Location
Gainesville, FL
Update for you, @*Jay* and anyone else.

Vacuumed the system. Stay at a nice 29” for 45 minutes and when disconnected, held vacuum. Hooked up Freon, started taking it in, then high pressure know at gauge started leaking. Immediately shut everything down. Evac system and started over with friend’s gauge set. This time when going to fill Freon, low pressure was at 70 and high pressure never moved off of zero. AC clutch wouldn’t engage. Jumped low pressure, clutch engages, still won’t pull Freon. I’m leaning toward a compressor that finally gave up. When it was cycling before, clutch made a weird squeak noise. No idea if related, but looks like I have an AC to replace.

Any thoughts?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:

94 Cobra R

Same Ol Same Ol
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,107
Location
Gainesville, FL
Btw, before the first gauge set said no more, the high pressure wouldn’t come down below 250 and the low side would go below 50. Makes me think the compressor was starting to lose it there. AC temp was only at 65 (ambient was 85 outside).


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

94 Cobra R

Same Ol Same Ol
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,107
Location
Gainesville, FL
As a side note: I’m gonna go buy some new gauges this weekend and star over before concluding the compressor is bad.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

94 Cobra R

Same Ol Same Ol
Established Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
1,107
Location
Gainesville, FL
You are correct, I misread and thought you meant purging the vacuum. Still would get a UV light to check for leaks.

High pressure schrader valve is leaking. Glad it’s something simple. Buying new LP and HP schrader valves and replacing them tomo then charging her up.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Users who are viewing this thread



Top