Need advice regrading intercooler & radiator relays

shelbygt500_897hp

Established Member
**Need advice REGARDING intercooler & radiator relays**

Question to the forum. I am not having any current obvious issues with either relay. Since I have the Ford Premium Care extended warranty and it expires this fall I want to maximize it and since I know the relays go bad is a visual ID buy the tech sufficient ? Im not good with programmers and VMP stated that if the Tech needs to hook the scanner to the OBD port, the car has to have its stock tune in and than I have to reflash it with the the proper VMP tune. I think I have several tunes stored so IF I decided to do this how do I tell what tune name is the car currently in ?

I think I can reflash the car to stock. Ive done it before but its been a while, just want to make sure I re-flash it back to the proper tune

Last edited:

me32

BEASTLY SHELBY GT500 TVS
Premium Member
Im not exactly sure what you are asking. But unless a relay is bad i dont see ford replacing any of them.

I do know that some 2007 gt500 had some issues with the radiator fan and electrical on the fan overheating an going bad or melting. The good upgrade is going with the 2013/2014 gt500 fan setup, complete drop in.

shelbygt500_897hp

Established Member
Im not exactly sure what you are asking. But unless a relay is bad i dont see ford replacing any of them.

I do know that some 2007 gt500 had some issues with the radiator fan and electrical on the fan overheating an going bad or melting. The good upgrade is going with the 2013/2014 gt500 fan setup, complete drop in.

I upgraded too the 13-14 fan about two months ago. What i m trying to do is see if any of my relays are bad or going bad and if so have them replaced under warranty.

I called VMP and they advised me not to have Ford hook there scanner to my OBD port unless I download the stock tune and than when done revert back to the tune I am currently using