Need Camera Opinions

M.P. Cobra Fan

Are you my baby's momma?
Established Member
Ok guys, I need some help with cameras. I want something better than my point and shoot, but am not a photographer and know it would be pointless to spend a grand on one. I am looking to stay under $650. It is mainly for car pics and randomness. I am looking at these three.

BestBuy.com - Compare Page

What do y'all think?

HYBRED

That Just Happened
Established Member
Strictly out of those three, I'd vote Nikon. I'm surprised to not see a Canon in that list though, I love my 40D and the Rebels are also awesome little cameras.

HYBRED

That Just Happened
Established Member
The D40 and the Rebel are tried, true, and loved cameras with a good following and a lot of neat, reasonably priced accessories. I would pick one of those two, but I have little experience with the other two. Although, I think my neighbor just got a Sony DSLR and really likes it. The benefit of the Nikon or Canon cameras is that it's easy to find used lenses and other stuff for them.

M.P. Cobra Fan

Are you my baby's momma?
Established Member
OK. With everything I have been reading today, and what everyone I have talked to has told me, I have narrowed it down to the Rebel and the D40.

Now I need to start shopping around for prices! lol. Thanks a lot guys. I plan on buying Monday, so any other opinions would be very much welcome.

2kHoe

Established Member
Another vote for the Rebel XS! Two of my friends have Rebel's, and they love them.

Things I Have Heard:

Once you buy one, you are "married" to that brand for the rest of its life.
The camera comes with a decent lens, but you will want to upgrade soon after.
The lenses are not cheap.
I wouldn't get anything other than a Nikon or Canon. These two brands have a ton of support and products.

mblgjr

Pay Attention Boy!
Established Member
Canon 40D is super easy to use.

I was in this same situation recently and went "1-up" with the Canon XSi.